Research Guide for

ENGC 1101 College Writing (Christopherson)

Annotated Bibliographies
Annotated Bibliographies (OWL @ Purdue)
"This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS." Includes links to APA and MLA citation styles as well as links to resources for help with paraphrasing and evaluating resources. (from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue)

Annotated Bibliographies (UNC)
"This handout will explain why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offer multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation." (from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
Find a Topic
Points of View ,Opposing Viewpoints, and CQ Researcher are great for browsing and finding topic ideas.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) provides full-text articles and reference material on a wide range of social issues.

Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains issue overviews and controversial essays on multiple sides of current issues.

CQ Researcher (Topic List)
CQ Researcher reports are in-depth summaries of current political and social issues that include background information, pro/con statements, and a bibliography of key sources.  
Encyclopedias - Foundational Information - Start Research Here
Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica)
Encyclopedia BritannicaOnline version of the complete Encyclopædia Britannica providing coverage of most subjects. Also provides access to Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary, Collegiate Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year.
Find Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.

JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.
Find Books

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.

Research Reminders
Picking a Research Topic
Narrowing down your research topic makes your research easier and increases your ability to persuade your audience. As you begin researching, look for opportunities to narrow your research question.




Choosing and Using Keywords
If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.



Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several library databases to find all the information you need.
 
Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email


Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf
Avoiding Plagiarism
Avoiding Plagiarism (U of WI Madison)
Quoting, paraphrasing, and avoiding plagiarism. Guide includes helpful examples.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.