Research Guides

ENGC 1101 College Writing (Conroy)

Find Sources
Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.

ProQuest News & Newspapers

Books

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.



Trouble Finding Sources
Try another database or try Combined Search.

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.

Combined Search
Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.

 
Exploring Topics
CQ Researcher (Topic List)
CQ Researcher reports are in-depth summaries of current political and social issues that include background information, pro/con statements, and a bibliography of key sources.  
Library Research Videos

Research Reminders About Database Searching

database is a collection of electronic materials, like magazines, newspapers, journals, and books. You will search library databases similarly to how you search Google, some important differences. You often search Google with sentences, commands, questions or phrases. However, with databases:
  • You search databases with topics (ideas, concepts) and nouns (person, place, thing). We call the terms you search databases with keywords
  • Keep keywords at 1-4 words; shorter is better. Try to reduce your topic to its core idea.
  • Try pairing the keywords together in order to limit the number of results you get. You can connect two keywords by putting the word 'and' between them. 
  • Think of synonyms for your keywords. Databases search the text of an article for your exact keywords, and authors might not have used the exact same words as you. Think of synonyms, alternate terms, similar ideas, etc. to search with.
  • Worksheet to help you develop keywords: Keyword Worksheet docx 

This video gives a good overview of what database searching looks like:


 
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us logo

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Emailphoto of LaceyLacey Mamak
Reference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu





photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.virezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Citation Generator
NoodleTools Express Citation Generator - a citation tool that will help you format your sources in MLA, APA, and Chicago. Always double-check the result.
Access Databases from Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.

Powered by SubjectsPlus