Research Guides

ENGC 1101 College Writing (Darling)

COVID-19 Coronavirus Information

Government Information on COVID-19

CDC COVID-19 Website (Centers for Disease Control & Prevention)
The Centers for Disease Control & Prevention is the national public health agency of the United States, and the leader of the U.S. COVID-19 health policy and research.

Federal Government Response to Coronavirus COVID-19
A list of links to federal agency actions, programs, and other responses to COVID-19 from business and employment help to scam prevention. Includes a helpful set of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ).

Minnesota Department of Health COVID-19 Website
Minnesota-specific COVID-19 case information and government guidance.

Note: Click on Situation Update to see case and testing statistics.


COVID-19 Myths

Interactive COVID-19 Charts, Maps, & Simulations

Newspaper Articles


4 Major U.S. Newspapers
Search for articles within the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune
 
Find Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.


JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.
Find More Sources
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.


 

Trouble finding sources? 
Try another database or try Combined Search.

Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.

Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.

 

Explore Topics
Having a hard time choosing a topic? Try exploring these library databases for topic ideas. 

Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains issue overviews and controversial essays on multiple sides of current issues.

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.
 
Research Reminders
​Picking a Topic - from North Carolina State University Libraries


Developing Keywords - from Monroe Community College Libraries, SUNY


Phrase Searching - from North Carolina State University Libraries

 
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us logo

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of LaceyLacey Mamak
Reference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf
Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

Powered by SubjectsPlus