Full page and full article images from the New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 to 4 years ago. Full indexing is available for articles, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Images of selected historical newspaper pages from 1777-1963. Use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find out which newspapers existed in a specific place and time (1690-present). Tribune, Minneapolis - Historical Access
Images of Minneapolis Tribune newspaper pages from 1867-1922, digitized by the Minnesota Historical Society.
Star Tribune, Minneapolis (ProQuest)
Text of articles from the Star Tribune newspaper, 1986 - present.
Note: To view each page of the paper as it appeared in print — with images and ads — see the print layout of the Star Tribune, available for 2008 - 3 months ago.
Pioneer Press, St. Paul (NewsBank)
Text-only articles from Pioneer Press and TwinCities.com (no images).
Note: To view each page of the paper as it appeared in print — with images and ads — see the print layout of the Pioneer Press, available for 2018 - present.
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database. JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.
Searches only the images on JSTOR. Use the classification tab to browse by object type (e.g. photograph, painting, etc.) or the Geography tab to explore by country.
Minnesota Digital Library – formerly Minnesota Reflections
Images, maps, documents, and other primary sources from Minnesota history.
American History (Infobase)
American political, military, social, and cultural history including daily life in America. Includes topic overviews, timelines, charts and maps, and some primary sources.
A streaming video service with documentaries, newsreels, and other educational films on many topics.
Legal and diplomacy documents (e.g., treaties) from ancient times through the 20th century. A project of the Yale Law School Law Library.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.
Library of Congress
Provides access to many primary sources from American history, including maps, historic newspapers, manuscripts, and photographs.
U.S. Government Information
GovInfo is a service of the United States Government Publishing Office (GPO), which is a Federal agency in the legislative branch.
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
David Vrieze DanielsReference and Instruction Librarian
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
Consider the source's –
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
CAPPS Questions to Ask
