These sources are a good place to find background information on Civil Rights Movement history. You should not use these for all your sources but to help you find out some basic information about the time and the people involved.
Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.
Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects. Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more. Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.
Events A-Z from Civil Rights Digital Library
- Civil Rights Movement Veterans Site:
There are many websites that contain primary sources from the Civil Rights Movement -- these are documents, photos, letters, and speeches all created during the movement. Explore these links to find more resources.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Civil Rights Movement Primary Sources (from Guilford College)
Black Civil Rights: Primary Source Collections Online (from Sam Houston State University)
Umbra Search
Umbra Search is a specialized search engine that connects you to documents and photographs related to African American history and culture available online in different libraries, museums, and archives.
Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 (FBI Archive)
Materials from the FBI Library about the 1961 Freedom Rides, a civil rights movement action against racial segregation on buses in the South.
Black Liberation Army (FBI archive)
Materials from the FBI Library about the Black Liberation Army (BLA) which operated from 1970 to 1981.
Civil Rights Digital Library
Civil Rights Movement Primary Sources (from Guilford College)
Black Civil Rights: Primary Source Collections Online (from Sam Houston State University)
Umbra Search
Umbra Search is a specialized search engine that connects you to documents and photographs related to African American history and culture available online in different libraries, museums, and archives.
Freedom Riders in the South, 1961 (FBI Archive)
Materials from the FBI Library about the 1961 Freedom Rides, a civil rights movement action against racial segregation on buses in the South.
Black Liberation Army (FBI archive)
Materials from the FBI Library about the Black Liberation Army (BLA) which operated from 1970 to 1981.
Books are a great source for information on the Civil Rights Movement and the organizations active during that time. Try searching the name of your organization or a prominent person in the organization. Ask for help finding the book on the shelf!
Book Search
Book Search
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Use this resource to find documentaries on the Civil Rights Movement:
Films On Demand
A streaming video service with documentaries, newsreels, and other educational films on many topics.
Feature Films for Education
A streaming video collection of hundreds of feature films selected for educational use. Includes blockbusters, classics, and hard-to-find titles.
Films On Demand
A streaming video service with documentaries, newsreels, and other educational films on many topics. Feature Films for Education
A streaming video collection of hundreds of feature films selected for educational use. Includes blockbusters, classics, and hard-to-find titles.
Watch this video from the Minnesota Historical Society.
Remember that secondary sources often republish portions of primary sources within the text of the secondary source.
Remember that secondary sources often republish portions of primary sources within the text of the secondary source.
Combined Search
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Defining Documents in American History: Reconstruction Era (1865–1877)
Ebook of historical documents.
African American History: Reconstruction Era
500 years of African American History. This sub-section focusing on the Reconstruction Era of African American History.
Umbra Search
Umbra Search is a specialized search engine that connects you to documents and photographs related to African American history and culture available online in different libraries, museums, and archives.
OPTIONAL
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals, Series 5
A collection of Reconstruction Era magazine articles from 1866-1877.
Ebook of historical documents.
African American History: Reconstruction Era
500 years of African American History. This sub-section focusing on the Reconstruction Era of African American History.
Umbra Search
Umbra Search is a specialized search engine that connects you to documents and photographs related to African American history and culture available online in different libraries, museums, and archives.
OPTIONAL
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals, Series 5
A collection of Reconstruction Era magazine articles from 1866-1877.
These sources are a good place to find background information on Civil Rights Movement history. You should not use these for all your sources but to help you find out some basic information about the time and the people involved.
Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.
Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects. Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.
Search in GVRL above.
SNCC people list: https://snccdigital.org/category/people/
Video interviews: http://repository.wustl.edu/catalog?per_page=20&q=Selma+to+Montgomery+Rights+March+%281965+%3A+Selma%2C+Ala.%29&search_field=subject
SNCC people list: https://snccdigital.org/category/people/
Video interviews: http://repository.wustl.edu/catalog?per_page=20&q=Selma+to+Montgomery+Rights+March+%281965+%3A+Selma%2C+Ala.%29&search_field=subject
Civil Rights Movement Veterans A website created by those who participated in the Southern Freedom Movement (1951-1968) to tell their own stories.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Libby Merrill
Reference and Instruction Librarian
libby.merrill@normandale.edu
David Vrieze DanielsReference and Instruction Librarian
david.virezedaniels@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
MLA Quick Guide (PDF)
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Linking to Library Resources
Directions for creating stable links to articles and videos found in Normandale Library databases that will work later and from off campus.
Directions for creating stable links to articles and videos found in Normandale Library databases that will work later and from off campus.
Annotated Bibliographies (OWL @ Purdue)
"This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS." Includes links to APA and MLA citation styles as well as links to resources for help with paraphrasing and evaluating resources. (from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue)
Annotated Bibliographies (UNC)
"This handout will explain why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offer multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation." (from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)
"This handout provides information about annotated bibliographies in MLA, APA, and CMS." Includes links to APA and MLA citation styles as well as links to resources for help with paraphrasing and evaluating resources. (from the Online Writing Lab at Purdue)
Annotated Bibliographies (UNC)
"This handout will explain why annotated bibliographies are useful for researchers, provide an explanation of what constitutes an annotation, describe various types of annotations and styles for writing them, and offer multiple examples of annotated bibliographies in the MLA, APA, and CBE/CSE styles of citation." (from The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill)