Research Guide for

ENGC 1101 College Writing (Fitchett)

Main

Find Articles

JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.


Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.


Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.




 
 

Find Articles Based off of a Certain Subject

You can search these databases which have articles and/or ebooks about a specific topic:


Article Databases by Subject

Documentary Videos

Kanopy Streaming Videos

A streaming video service with documentary, educational, and feature films.

Notes: PERSONAL ACCOUNT REQUIRED to watch videos. To create an account on Kanopy, use the orange Visit the Normandale Collection button. If you already have a Kanopy account, sign in using the Login link.

The Library pays a per-view fee for Kanopy. To keep costs down, only use Kanopy for educational purposes.




Films On Demand
A streaming video service with documentaries, newsreels, and other educational films on many topics.

Find Books

Developing Keywords

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Our Databases from Anywhere

Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.

 

Keyword Worksheet

Cite your Sources (MLA)

MLA Quick Guide (PDF)
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.

Evaluate Source Credibility

Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf