Research Guide for

ENGC 1101 College Writing (Miller)

Library Research

  1. Databases contain electronic versions of magazines, newspapers, academic journals, and encyclopedias. We call the terms you search these databases with keywords.
  2. You will search databases exactly like you search Google. However, there are a few differences:
    1. You search databases with topics (ideas, concepts) and nouns (person, place, thing).
    2. Shorten keywords to 1-4 words, not phrases or sentences like with Google.
    3. Writers might have written on your topic but not used your exact search terms. Think of synonyms or variations of a word for your terms and search with those too.




This video is a good intro to library research:






Encyclopedias and Dictionaries - Broad Topics; People; Word Definitions 
Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Articles - Newspapers, Magazines, Academic Journals - Specific Topics 
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.

Newspapers Only - Localized People and Events 

ProQuest Major U.S. Newspapers

Academic Journals Only - In-Depth Analysis by Experts 

JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.

Project MUSE
Provides full text articles from journals that cover literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.

Reporting on Current Events 

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.

Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.



Search Everything 
Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.

 

 

Film Sources

Documentary films, historical footage, or news programs can also be good sources.  Search for information on your topic in the Library's streaming video database.

Films On Demand
Films On Demand is a streaming video service containing documentaries and other educational films on many different topics. 

Kanopy Streaming Videos
Stream documentaries and other videos on many subjects. You can browse by subject or use the search box to enter titles, keywords, subjects, suppliers, and filmmakers. To watch films, you must create a Kanopy account.

Research Reminders

  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases to find all the information you need.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.
Choosing a Topic Is Research






 

Ask a Librarian

Ask Us logo

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email


 
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.

Cite your Sources (MLA)

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.