Research Guide for

ENGC 1101 College Writing (Oliveira)

Find Reference Materials
Credo Reference
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.
Argumentative and Pro/Con Articles
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) provides full-text articles and reference material on a wide range of social issues.

Points of View Reference Center
Points of View Reference Center contains issue overviews and controversial essays on multiple sides of current issues.
Find Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.

Minneapolis Star Tribune - Scoped Search via US Newsstream

 
Still stuck? The Library has lots of databaes. Try looking in this list for more options:
Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
Find Minnesota Government and Newspaper Infor
Minnesota Links to the World
The Minnesota Legislative Reference Library compiled this list of links to Minnesota-based state agencies, nonprofits, advocacy groups, and other organizations by topic.

Minnesota Reflections
Minnesota Reflections, a product of the Minnesota Digital Library, contains more than 80,000 Images/library, maps, and documents from more than 125 of the state's cultural heritage organizations, offering resources on Minnesota history and geography.

Looking for more Minnesota resources? Check out our research guide all about Minnesota!
 
Developing Keywords
Researching




 
Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

Libby Picture
Libby Merrill
Reference and Instruction Librarian
libby.merrill@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.
Evaluate Source Credibility
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf