Research Guide for

ENGC 1101 College Writing (Overby)

Topics and Keywords

The first step to research is taking your research question and creating a list of keywords.

Watch this video from the Pfau Library at Cal State San Bernardino for more information:

Journal Articles, Newspapers, and Magazines

Use one of these database options to find an article for your assignment. These are generally articles you cannot find using Google or some other search engine.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) provides full-text articles and reference material on a wide range of social issues.

Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.

 

Encyclopedias and Reference Sources

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.

Find Books

A book is a great option for your non-web resource. Use the library catalog to search for a book.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email


Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Your Sources

Evaluating Internet Resources
Criteria to use when evaluating the quality of an Internet site. 

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
(from UC Berkeley)

Evaluating Sources Chart
from Oakland University Libraries

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.

Cite your Sources (MLA)

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.