Research Guide for

ENGC 1101 College Writing (Reimringer)

Find Articles
Search for articles in these databases to use as sources for your research paper.  If you need help, watch the video tutorials listed under each database, or contact Rachel and Amanda, your friendly librarians.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Academic Search Premier video tutorial (4:16)

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.
Expanded Academic ASAP video tutorial (3:52)

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.
ProQuest News & Newspapers video tutorial (3:33)
 
Find Other Sources
Don't know where to start?  Feeling stuck? Use this Mount Everest topic page to spark ideas and connect you to other sources.

Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.

 
Research Reminders
  • Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases to find all the information you need.
  • If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.

Choosing and Using Keywords

Courtesy of California State University San Bernardino John M. Pfau Library
Ask a Librarian
Ask Us logo

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email


 
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.