Choosing a research question is a process of exploring what interests you. After choosing an initial topic, you may need to focus on just one small piece of it as you start your research. The key to choosing and researching any topic it to find something that is neither too broad or too narrow.
To help you understand the research cycle and how to choose an appropriate topic, watch this topic video from North Carolina State University Library.
As you think about research topics and the question you would like to answer, search in a library database to get more ideas:
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.
Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
To help you understand the research cycle and how to choose an appropriate topic, watch this topic video from North Carolina State University Library.
As you think about research topics and the question you would like to answer, search in a library database to get more ideas:
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues. Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more. Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
For more in-depth research, try these databases:
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.
Multicultural American Studies E-book Collection
Selected encyclopedias on multicultural American studies topics from Gale.
More Databases
All Library Databases by Subject/Type
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject or type.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database. JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives. Multicultural American Studies E-book Collection
Selected encyclopedias on multicultural American studies topics from Gale.
More Databases
All Library Databases by Subject/Type
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject or type.
Book Search
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
MLA Quick Guide (PDF)
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.