Research Guide for

ENGC 1101 College Writing (Segelbaum)

Welcome to Normandale Library

Use this page to find research resources for your class.
Contact the Library if you need any help!

Lateral Reading - Spotting Misinformation/Disinformation

 
  1. Supporting Sources: Any credible piece of information is going to use outside sources to verify what is contained in it. Does the article specifically state where its information comes from? Be careful of vague sources that say things like, "According to one CDC scientist..." Also, be aware of links within articles that use the same website as a source. This circular logic makes it appear these articles have sourced information, but it's really just trying to lead to believe it's true when it is not. Go to that source and verify that it actually says what the article makes us believe it says. 
  2. Find information on the author: Try to Google the author's name. Do they have a Wikipedia page? A LinkedIn page? A Bio on a university or legitimate news site? Read through this information, do you feel like the author is qualified based on what you have read? 
  3. Check Wikipedia!
  4. Check the different fact-checking sites for help: 
  5. Try to find information about that website on Google: A search string that excludes results from that website will be helpful (example: New York Times -nytimes.com).
  6. Triangulate: Read multiple articles on the same topic. Does one of the articles seem way off from what the others are saying? We call this an outlier and it would probably be best just to disregard that source. This can be difficult when we hear so much about news sources having a political slant or agenda, but it can also be very helpful in finding out what is happening. For example, read about an issue on CNN and the same issue on Fox News. After that try reading about the issue on BBC. These three stories will probably vary some in the information that is presented. Taken together though, you should have a good idea of what the truth on the issue is. 

Find Background Information

Credo Reference
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextOpposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context) provides full-text articles and reference material on a wide range of social issues.

 

Academic Journals

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.


JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.

 

Newspapers

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Click on "Full-Text @ NCC Library" to locate the item through the Normandale Library subscriptions. Only items for which Normandale Library has a current subscription will be available for free.

Note: When accessing from off campus, you will be directed to log into the library site before with your StarID and password before you can search in Google Scholar.

Research Reminders

Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases and search options mentioned above to find all the information you need.

If you have trouble finding sources on a topic, try:

  • Searching with different keywords
  • Look in a different database
  • Look for a different kind of source (journal, book, encyclopedia, etc.)

Picking a Topic

Developing Keywords

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.virezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Evaluate Source Credibility

Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf
 

Starting the Research Process - Keyword Worksheet

Keyword Worksheet
Use the worksheet to develop keywords that will be helpful in your searching. Remember, this is for your own research and won't be handed in, so go ahead and use it in the way that works best for you!

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.

Cite your Sources (MLA)

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.