CQ Researcher (Topic List)
CQ Researcher reports are in-depth summaries of current political and social issues that include background information, pro/con statements, and a bibliography of key sources.
Academic Search Premier + MegaFILE
Search these two multi-disciplinary databases at once to find even more articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.
CQ Researcher reports are in-depth summaries of current political and social issues that include background information, pro/con statements, and a bibliography of key sources. Academic Search Premier + MegaFILE
Search these two multi-disciplinary databases at once to find even more articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database. JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor. Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.
If you can't find what you are looking for, perhaps try a different database or try our Combined Search, which searches many of our databases at once.
Combined Search
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
Book Search
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library. These books also appear in Combined Search.
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library. These books also appear in Combined Search.
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
Ask yourself these questions to determine if the source you are considering is scholarly.
Identifying Scholarly vs. Popular Sources
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Lacey MamakReference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
MLA Style
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
APA Style
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.
How to Link to Library Sources
Linking to Library ResourcesDirections for creating stable links to articles and videos found in Normandale Library databases that will work later and from off campus.