To help you understand the research cycle and how to choose an appropriate topic, watch this topic video from North Carolina State University Library.
As you think about research topics and the question you would like to answer, search in a library database to get more ideas:
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues. Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more. Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects. Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database. JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives. ProQuest News & Newspapers
News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.
All Library Databases by Subject/Type
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject or type.
Consider the source's –
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
If can't find much on your topic, try different keywords. Using synonyms or broader related terms can help you find more articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
Quoting, paraphrasing, and avoiding plagiarism. Guide includes helpful examples.