ENGL 2000 Writing About Literature (Hammerbeck)

All topics, all kinds of articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.

JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.


Google Scholar

Search for academic articles on publisher and other websites. When you use this link to connect to Google Scholar through the Library, your search results will include links to articles available in Normandale Library databases whenever possible. Look for the "Article @ Normandale Lib." links to access the full article through the Library.

Note: Not all articles in your search results will be available through the Library. Need an article we don’t have? Submit an interlibrary loan request.

Literature Databases (Great for literature overall, should have a lot of information about various contexts)

Salem Literature
Literary analysis of authors, their novels and poetry, and literary themes.

Gale Literature
Searches all Gale literature databases at once: Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Project MUSE
Journal articles and books on literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.


Other Literature Databases: If you are having trouble finding materials in these three databases you can also check our other literature databases.