Research Guide for

ENGC 2102 Business and Technical Writing (Segelbaum)

Developing Keywords

Science Articles

Science E-book Collection (Gale)
This collection of reference e-books covers a broad range of science topics including biotechnology, chemistry, computer sciences, space sciences, and more.

Science (Gale OneFile)
A collection of hundreds of science journals

Business Dataabases

Regional Business News
Provides access to 75 full text business journals, newspapers and news wires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier covers all aspects of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics, industry and market research reports. Includes peer-reviewed, scholarly publications, searchable references; trade journals, and monographs.

Business (Gale OneFile)
Business (Gale OneFile) contains over 4,000 business newspapers and trade publications covering areas such as accounting, economics, finance, and marketing.
 

Web - Government and Associations


Government Departments
Minnesota Department of Agriculture - info about aspects of farming, including:
  • Renewable/alternative energy sources
  • Government grants
  • Food (cider) licensing and sales
  • Tax information

Minnesota Legislature - "Links to the World" - State legislative library's website that links to various government departments and other government and law info, grouped by topic.

Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy - Government department about renewable energy. Info on wind energy in Minnesota is here

Minnesota Commerce Department - Energy - Information about energy as related to businesses, including wind and solar energy. Agency in charge of energy is here.

 

Clean Energy Project Builder - Links to businesses that build/install clean energy sources.

Patent Search Sites

Google Patents
Search patents from Around the world with Google Patent Search.

Espacenet
European patent search

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
The full-text of over 3,000,000 patents from 1976 to the present are available on the USPTO site. 

How Products are Made
A breakdown of 1000's of products


 

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.virezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.

Web Research

We live in the information age. The internet has lots of information and Google makes it easy to search. We recommend the CAPPS method for evaluating sources.

Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf

For researching this assignment, the most important elements to look at are: 

Publisher = who provides the content? 
  • Professional association, e.g. Minnesota Apple Gowers Association
  • University website, like the University of Minnsota.
  • Government departments - anything with a .gov domain name. The department should also be labeled at the top of the web page, e.g. USDA (U.S. Department of Agriculture).

Author = for single-author content, who wrote this? Are they an expert through education (professor, government employee) or have knowledge through experience (farmer, salesman, professional association member)? There should be biographical information for authors on the article, or easily accessible via author's website, twitter, etc.

Cite Your Sources (APA)

APA Quick Guide (PDF)
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.

Cite your Sources (MLA)

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.