Science E-book Collection (Gale)
Selected ebooks on science topics from Gale.
Consider the source's –
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
For researching this assignment, the most important elements to look at are:
Publisher = who provides the content?
- Professional association, e.g. Minnesota Apple Gowers Association
- University website, like the University of Minnsota.
- Government departments - anything with a .gov domain name. The department should also be labeled at the top of the web page, e.g. USDA (U.S. Department of Agriculture).
Author = for single-author content, who wrote this? Are they an expert through education (professor, government employee) or have knowledge through experience (farmer, salesman, professional association member)? There should be biographical information for authors on the article, or easily accessible via author's website, twitter, etc.
Web - Government, Universities, Associations
- Helpful additions to search terms: Resources; university resources; Minnesota state resources; association; organization; guild. E.g., "Minnesota apple orchard resources" or "Minnesota apple association."
- Look at who a webpage links to--will often link to other good resources.
Minnesota Department of Agriculture - info about aspects of farming, including:
- Renewable/alternative energy sources
- Government grants
- Food (cider) licensing and sales
- Tax information
Agriculture and Rural Issues - from Minnesota Legislature Library. Links to web sources about agricultural issues.
Minnesota Legislature - "Links to the World" - State legislative library's website that links to various government departments and other government and law info, grouped by topic.
Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy - Government department about renewable energy. Info on wind energy in Minnesota is here.
Minnesota Commerce Department - Energy - Information about energy as related to businesses, including wind and solar energy. Agency in charge of energy is here.
Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry - Building codes (for event barn and storage cooler). Building codes are here. Info for a "Place of Public Accomidation" (events) is here. Fact sheet for building event barns is here.
Farm Answers - project from University of Minnesota and US Department of Agriculture. GREAT source for general info about farming. Link takes you to site search. Alternative site search via Google is here (type in your topic in search bar, following "site:farmanswers.org").
University of Minnesota Extension - Provides educational resources for Minnesota communities and businesses. Information on managing a farm is here. Info for commercial fruit growers is here.
Penn State Extension - Educational resources for agriculture. Has a searchable database. Info for produce storage (coolers) is here. Info for deer fences is here.
Minnesota Fruit Research - via University of Minnesota - Educational info.
Professional Organizations and Non-Profits
Minnesota Apple Growers Association - links to Minnesota suppliers, materials, equipment sellers.
Minnesota Food Association - Resources - Educational info and links to other resources.
Sustainable Farm Association of Minnesota - Educational info and links to other resources.
Clean Energy Project Builder - Links to businesses that build/install clean energy sources.
Articles from business journals and magazines, company profiles with SWOT analyses, and industry reports.
Business (Gale OneFile)
Articles from business newspapers and trade publications on accounting, economics, finance, and marketing.
Combined Search & Databases List
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
Ask a Librarian
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.firstname.lastname@example.org
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite Your Sources (APA)
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.