The Library has many resources to help you research for your Fiction Writing class. Research for this class will be different than for a research paper. Explore the links on this page and see where they lead you. Ask questions, if you have them.
These resources include many encyclopedias and are a great way to get information on almost any topic.
Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.
Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects. Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more. Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.
CountryWatch
ACountry Reviews on each country in the world with current demographic, political, economic, and social information. News stories searchable by country in the Country Wire section.
A to Z the World
Country reports for most countries with basic geography and politics, human rights and religious freedom information, descriptions of business culture, and travel warnings.
ACountry Reviews on each country in the world with current demographic, political, economic, and social information. News stories searchable by country in the Country Wire section. A to Z the World
Country reports for most countries with basic geography and politics, human rights and religious freedom information, descriptions of business culture, and travel warnings.
Daily Life through History
Information on the daily lives of peoples throughout history from prehistory to the present. Includes overview articles and primary sources like maps, images, and documents.
Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.
Ancient & Medieval History (Infobase)
Early world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s. Focuses on key ancient and medieval civilizations and regions with topic overviews, timelines, charts and maps, thematic comparisons, and some primary sources.
Information on the daily lives of peoples throughout history from prehistory to the present. Includes overview articles and primary sources like maps, images, and documents. Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more. Ancient & Medieval History (Infobase)
Early world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s. Focuses on key ancient and medieval civilizations and regions with topic overviews, timelines, charts and maps, thematic comparisons, and some primary sources.
Minnesota Digital Library – formerly Minnesota Reflections
Images, maps, documents, and other primary sources from Minnesota history.
Digital Public Library of America - Primary Source Sets
Selected primary source materials organized by topic. From notable archives, museums, and libraries across the country.
Images, maps, documents, and other primary sources from Minnesota history.
Digital Public Library of America - Primary Source Sets
Selected primary source materials organized by topic. From notable archives, museums, and libraries across the country.
Newspapers are a great source for researching. Read about events as they happen(ed).
Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Full page and full article images from the New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 to 4 years ago. Full indexing is available for articles, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from newspapers and magazines serving ethnic and cultural minority communities. Includes some academic journals in ethnic studies.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Full page and full article images from the New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 to 4 years ago. Full indexing is available for articles, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Articles from newspapers and magazines serving ethnic and cultural minority communities. Includes some academic journals in ethnic studies.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
Book Search
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.