Find Research for your Paper
The following resources will help you with your paper:
Environmental Information:Use online encyclopedias to find background information and definitions on your topic. These resources include encyclopedias (better than Wikipedia!) that have been put online for you to use.
Encyclopedia ebooks on science topics from Salem Press.
Articles:Use these library databases to find articles on your topic. A database is like a search engine for articles. But many of these articles are not available on the open internet.
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Science (Gale OneFile)
Articles from scholarly science journals and science and industry magazines.
Find Research for Your Lecture
ACountry Reviews on each country in the world with current demographic, political, economic, and social information. News stories searchable by country in the Country Wire section.
A to Z the World
Country reports for most countries with basic geography and politics, human rights and religious freedom information, descriptions of business culture, and travel warnings. **NOTE: After selecting a country, Select PDF Report to view all information and to print or save.
Find Research for Both Assignments
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Films on Demand: Geography
Films and videos covering the topics of geography.
Scholarly articles and ebooks in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Incorporates image results from Artstor. Choose Advanced Search (under the search box) to create a more specific search. Select a subject, such as Geography or environmental studies, to narrow your search.
Combined Search & Databases List
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Scientific and technical publications from U.S. federal government agencies. Includes journal articles and other reports of research funded by federal science agencies like the Department of Energy,
CIA World Factbook
Public versions of country profiles written by the Central Intelligence Agency of the United States.
Environmental Protection Agency
Website of the US Environmental Protection Agency. Includes information on many aspects of environmental science.
World Bank Databank
The Databank is a collection of statistical databases developed by the World Bank. The databases provide economic, gender, health, education, and poverty statistics.
Ask a Librarian
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
Cite your Sources (Chicago)
A guide to Chicago-style citations (both footnote-bibliography and author-date). Each example shows a full note, shortened note, and bibliography entry.
Chicago Manual of Style Guide (OWL Purdue)
A guide to the Chicago citation style, based on the Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition).
- Be patient. Research takes time. You will not find everything you need on the first try or in the first database.
- If you don't find many sources when you search a database, try changing your search words. Synonyms or related words will help you find more information.
- Ask a librarian if you need help!