Research Guide for

GEOG 1123 Geography of Minnesota (Sabourin)

Find Articles
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.


JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.
Topics Related to Science
The library has many databases that can help you locate both scholarly studies and popular science articles. While the database below is not the only science database that the library has, it can provide a great start!


ScienceDirect College Ed.: Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection
The Health & Life Sciences Journal Collection offers leading literature online in the health and life sciences, including health and nursing professions, biology, and environmental sciences.
Newspapers
Minneapolis Star Tribune (ProQuest)
Local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community.

St. Paul Pioneer Press (Newsbank)
Text-only articles (no images) from Pioneer Press and TwinCities.com from 1988 to the present. To see each page of the paper as it appeared in print (with images and ads), see the print layout of St. Paul Pioneer Press, available for 2018 - present.

Minnesota Newspapers Directory
Links to Minnesota newspaper websites, including local, special interest, and college and university papers.

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.
Minnesota Specific Resources
MNopedia
An online encyclopedia of Minnesota.
Combined Search & Databases List
Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.

 


Article Databases by Subject
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject.
Picking a Topic
Developing Keywords
What is a Scholarly Source?
Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.virezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite Your Sources (APA)
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 7th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Citation Generator
NoodleTools Express Citation Generator - a citation tool that will help you format your sources in MLA, APA, and Chicago. Always double-check the result.
Access Databases from Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.