Book Search
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.
Project MUSE
Journal articles and books on literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives. Project MUSE
Journal articles and books on literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.
Ancient & Medieval History (Infobase)
Early world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s. Focuses on key ancient and medieval civilizations and regions with topic overviews, timelines, charts and maps, thematic comparisons, and some primary sources.
Daily Life through History
Information on the daily lives of peoples throughout history from prehistory to the present. Includes overview articles and primary sources like maps, images, and documents.
Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.
Early world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s. Focuses on key ancient and medieval civilizations and regions with topic overviews, timelines, charts and maps, thematic comparisons, and some primary sources. Daily Life through History
Information on the daily lives of peoples throughout history from prehistory to the present. Includes overview articles and primary sources like maps, images, and documents. Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
Provides access to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
British Library: "Turning the Pages"
Virtual book collection of the British Library.
Mapping Past Societies
Spatial and temporal analyses of civilizations of western Eurasia, as well as original maps illustrating aspects of ancient and medieval civilization.
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
Primary source material from 22 countries. Sites are sorted by country and listed chronologically. Available sources include letters, facsimilies of paintings and photographs, journals, and official documents.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.
Inquisition Collections: Hesburgh Libraries of Notre Dame
Several hundred items, from printed volumes to unique manuscripts and images, on the general theme of inquisition.
Open Domesday
Digital copy of the Domesday Book, including geographic and biographic information.
Perseus Digital Library
Primary and secondary sources from a variety of historical time periods (Ancient Greece and Rome, Renaissance, etc.).
Pompeii Bibliography and Mapping Project
A full-text repository and a Geographical Information System (GIS) of the ancient city of Pompeii.
World Digital Library
WDL makes available significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Provides access to primary source materials in the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
British Library: "Turning the Pages"
Virtual book collection of the British Library.
Mapping Past Societies
Spatial and temporal analyses of civilizations of western Eurasia, as well as original maps illustrating aspects of ancient and medieval civilization.
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
Primary source material from 22 countries. Sites are sorted by country and listed chronologically. Available sources include letters, facsimilies of paintings and photographs, journals, and official documents.
Hathi Trust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.
Inquisition Collections: Hesburgh Libraries of Notre Dame
Several hundred items, from printed volumes to unique manuscripts and images, on the general theme of inquisition.
Open Domesday
Digital copy of the Domesday Book, including geographic and biographic information.
Perseus Digital Library
Primary and secondary sources from a variety of historical time periods (Ancient Greece and Rome, Renaissance, etc.).
Pompeii Bibliography and Mapping Project
A full-text repository and a Geographical Information System (GIS) of the ancient city of Pompeii.
World Digital Library
WDL makes available significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
A History of Water Book Series
All 9 volumes of the History of Water book series are available in the Library. They are shelved in the General Collection call number area GB 671 .H57. Two of the volumes are also available online as e-books. Use the links to the library records below to read the chapter titles (under Details > Contents) to see the topics each book covers.
- A History of Water: Water Control and River Biographies (Library Record)
- A History of Water: The Political Economy of Water (Library Record)
- A History of Water: The World of Water (Library Record)
- A History of Water: Ideas of Water from Ancient Societies to the Modern World (Library Record)
- A History of Water: Rivers and Societies: From Early Civilizations to Modern Times (Library Record)
- A History of Water: Water, Geopolitics, and the New World Order (Library Record)
- A History of Water: Water and Urbanization (Library Record)
- A History of Water: Sovereignty and International Water Law (Library Record, E-book)
- A History of Water: Water and Food: From Hunter-gatherers to Global Production in Africa (Library Record, E-book)
Other Water History Books and Journals
- E-book: Water and Society: Changing Perceptions of Societal and Historical Development
- Journal: Water History
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.