Research Guide for

HIST 1133 Minnesota History (Helmers)

Explore Minnesota Topics and Resources

These books and documentaries/movies relate to Minnesota history and are available through the Normandale Library. 

Sports
Online books (ebooks)
On the Shelf in the library (physical books)

Music
Online books (ebooks)
On the Shelf in the library (physical books)

Politics
Online books (ebooks)
On the Shelf in the library (physical books)

Emigration from another country to Minnesota
Online books (ebooks)
On the Shelf in the library (physical books)

LGBTQ History
On the Shelf in the library (physical books)

Native American and Indigenous Studies
Online books (ebooks)
On the Shelf in the library (physical books)


Fiction from Minnesota authors
On the Shelf in the library (physical books)

Tip: There are a lot of results here (the Normandale Library focuses on books from MN authors) I would suggest using the date filter to look for a certain time period.


Memoirs/ Autobiographies from Minnesota authors
On the Shelf in the library (physical books)

Or a topic of your choosing:
Online books (ebooks)
On the Shelf in the library (physical books)


Documentaries/Movies

Kanopy Streaming Videos

A streaming video service with documentary, educational, and feature films.

Notes: PERSONAL ACCOUNT REQUIRED to watch videos. To create an account on Kanopy, use the orange Visit the Normandale Collection button. If you already have a Kanopy account, sign in using the Login link.

The Library pays a per-view fee for Kanopy. To keep costs down, only use Kanopy for educational purposes.



Tips: You will need to create an account for Kanopy. Remember the email and password you use for the account. Don't worry, I've never received spam from them to my email. Then, search for Minnesota in the search bar and then use the subject drop-down to find a subject that interests you.


Films on Demand Streaming: Minnesota
Tip: Use the subject drop-down to find a subject that interests you. 

Feature Films for Education
A streaming video collection of hundreds of feature films selected for educational use. Includes blockbusters, classics, and hard-to-find titles.

Tip: Try the Feature Films for Education database if you have a film in mind. 

Other Films and videos related to Minnesota:
Online films (streaming)
On the Shelf at Normandale (dvds) 

Kensington Runestone Resources

Normandale Library Resources

Articles: 

Tip:
 When searching library resources, a keyword search of "Kensington Runestone" is going to be perfect. Stay away from anything that is a review! These are commonly book reviews for items written about the Kensington Runestone and they won't be helpful as sources.  

About:
I have linked two individual databases and one combined search that will have articles on the Kensington Runestone. These databases have peer-reviewed articles from different academic journals and periodicals (think magazines for serious research). You may end up seeing some articles repeated in the different searches you do. This is called overlap. It is worth searching in each database though, as each of them offers unique articles on a topic.
 


JSTOR
Scholarly articles and ebooks in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Incorporates image results from Artstor.



Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.

Article search of Kensington Runestone in multiple databases.


Minnesota Historical Society Resources

About: The Minnesota Historical Society is a credible resource for Minnesota History topics, but keep be skeptical when reading the articles contained within. Certain authors writing in different time periods may come to conclusions that are no longer supported. It can also be difficult at times to find what year an article was published by the Minnesota Historical Society. If you have issues finding that, please contact me (david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu) and I can help you find the correct date. 

Tip: When Minnesota Historical Society resources, a keyword search of "Kensington Runestone" is going to be perfect. Stay away from anything that is a review! These are commonly book reviews for items written about the Kensington Runestone and they won't be helpful as sources. 

Minnesota Historica Society (search for items concerning the runestone in the top right corner)

MNopedia
An online Minnesota history encyclopedia written by experts selected by the Minnesota Historical Society.
This resource will give you general information on your topic. The most helpful piece may be the bibliography at the end of each article. These will be helpful to track down more information on the Kensington Runestone. 






 

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of DavidDavid Vrieze Daniels
Reference and Instruction Librarian
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Cite your Sources (MLA)

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.

Cite your Sources (Chicago)

Chicago Quick Guide
A guide to Chicago-style citations (both footnote-bibliography and author-date). Each example shows a full note, shortened note, and bibliography entry.

Chicago Manual of Style Guide (OWL Purdue)
A guide to the Chicago citation style, based on the Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition).

Cite Your Sources (APA)

APA Quick Guide (PDF)
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.