A searchable database of photographs, art and posters covering Minnesota history.
Digital Public Library of America - Primary Source Sets
Selected primary source materials organized by topic. From notable archives, museums, and libraries across the country.
HathiTrust Digital Library
Digital collections of the libraries of major research universities.
Archives Unbound - FBI Files (Gale Primary Sources)
Minnesota Digital Library – formerly Minnesota Reflections
Images, maps, documents, and other primary sources from Minnesota history.
Historical Newspapers
Tribune, Minneapolis - Historical Access
Images of Minneapolis Tribune newspaper pages from 1867-1922, digitized by the Minnesota Historical Society.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Images of selected historical newspaper pages from 1777-1963. Use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find out which newspapers existed in a specific place and time (1690-present). 
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives. American History (Infobase)
American political, military, social, and cultural history including daily life in America. Includes topic overviews, timelines, charts and maps, and some primary sources.
African American History
500 years of African-American history.
American Indian History (Infobase)
American Indian history and cultures from first contact with colonizers to the present. Includes topic overviews, timelines, charts and maps, some primary sources, and a tribe index.
Minnesota History Magazine Index
Scholarly magazine on Minnesota history. Browse this A-Z topic index to find links to articles that mention topics, people, or places of interest. Index covers articles published from 1915-2017. For more recent articles, browse each issue online at the Minnesota History archive by date.
Online Archive & Index
Minnesota History: The Quarterly of the Minnesota Historical Society (print)
Minnesota History: The Quarterly of the Minnesota Historical Society is a peer-reviewed magazine. Normandale Library owns print issues from 1925-present. The most recent issue can be found in the Magazine Collection. For older issues, as at the Circulation Desk.
A History of Water Book Series
All 9 volumes of the History of Water book series are available in the Library. They are shelved in the General Collection call number area GB 671 .H57. Two of the volumes are also available online as e-books. Use the links to the library records below to read the chapter titles (under Details > Contents) to see the topics each book covers.
- A History of Water: Water Control and River Biographies (Library Record)
- A History of Water: The Political Economy of Water (Library Record)
- A History of Water: The World of Water (Library Record)
- A History of Water: Ideas of Water from Ancient Societies to the Modern World (Library Record)
- A History of Water: Rivers and Societies: From Early Civilizations to Modern Times (Library Record)
- A History of Water: Water, Geopolitics, and the New World Order (Library Record)
- A History of Water: Water and Urbanization (Library Record)
- A History of Water: Sovereignty and International Water Law (Library Record, E-book)
- A History of Water: Water and Food: From Hunter-gatherers to Global Production in Africa (Library Record, E-book)
Other Water History Books and Journals
- E-book: Water and Society: Changing Perceptions of Societal and Historical Development
- Journal: Water History
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Normandale Library has a large collection of Minnesota-based books and materials. Because books often have substantial bibliographies, they can lead you to other resources on your topic. Some books also contain primary sources; check within chapters or in appendices. The majority of Minnesota history books are in the call number range F601 - F615.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.
Official guides to the two formats of Chicago Style. Use ONE of the following formats:
- Notes and Bibliography format guide
- Author-Date format guide
Chicago Manual of Style Guide (OWL Purdue)
A guide to the Chicago citation style, based on the Chicago Manual of Style (17th edition).
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
Blank Request Form (StarID login)