Global Encylopedia of LGBTQ History
Published in 2019.
Great Events from History: LGBTQ
Published in 2017.
LGBTQ Americans in the U.S. Political System: An Encyclopedia of Activists, Voters, Candidates, and Officeholders
Published in 2020.
Documents of the LGBT Movement
Published in 2018.
Defining Documents in American History: LGBTQ+
Published in 2018.
LGBT Psychology and Mental Health: Emerging Research and Advances
Published in 2017.
Search these two multi-disciplinary databases at once to find even more articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor. Project MUSE
Journal articles and books on literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more. Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more. ProQuest News & Newspapers
News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.
Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Full page and full article images from the New York Times with searchable fulltext from 1851 to 4 years ago. Full indexing is available for articles, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth/marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
More Databases
Need more options? Take a look at the complete list of Normandale Library databases.
A streaming video service with documentary, educational, and feature films.
Notes: PERSONAL ACCOUNT REQUIRED to watch videos. To create an account on Kanopy, use the orange Visit the Normandale Collection button. If you already have a Kanopy account, sign in using the Login link.
The Library pays a per-view fee for Kanopy. To keep costs down, only use Kanopy for educational purposes.
LGBT Documentary Videos
Films On Demand
A streaming video service with documentaries, newsreels, and other educational films on many topics. Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.
Examples: Out, GLQ, Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide, Lesbian/Gay Law Notes
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Lacey MamakReference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Consider the source's –
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
ONE Archives at USC
Search the online portion of the ONE National Gay and Lesbian Archives. Contains photographs, pamphlets, personal letters and more.
GLBT Historical Society Digital Collections
Browse photos and papers from California LGBT history.
- Digital Collections
- Primary Source "Sets" (items from different digital collections, grouped by topic)
Digital Transgender Archive
This is a search hub to find trans historical materials.
Digital Public Library of America - Primary Source Sets
Selected primary source materials organized by topic. From notable archives, museums, and libraries across the country.