Densho
"Densho's mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II ... We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical
images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy and promote equal justice for all."
- Densho encyclopedia: Search specific camps, people and places using a Ctrl + F browser search.
Smithsonian Exhibits
- Letters between San Diego Librarian Clara Breed and patrons she served who were sent to internment camps
- A More Perfect Union: Sections detailing the Immigration, Removal, Internment, Loyalty, Service, and Justice of the Japanese American detainees.
- Righting a Wrong: Japanese Americans and World War II: A very thorough exhibit focused on all aspects of Japanese American Internment.
To find a newspaper article written from this time period, choose "Advanced Search." Select a "Specific Date Range" (ex. 1942-1945). Use one or more relevant search terms, such as the name of a specific camp.
American History (Infobase)
This database contains academic and peer-reviewed journal articles in the discipline of history. Search by keyword (ex. Japanese internment) to find relevant articles.
Daily Life through History
Under "Browse Topics," select "World at War," then "Japanese Internment."
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Suggested subject heading: Japanese Americans > Evacuation and Relocation, 1942-1945
A streaming video service with documentaries, newsreels, and other educational films on many topics. Suggested titles: Sleeping Tigers: The Asahi Baseball Story, Jimmy Murakami: Non Alien, TEDTalks: George Takei -- Why I Love a Country that Once Betrayed Me
Kanopy Streaming Videos
A streaming video service with documentary, educational, and feature films.
Notes: PERSONAL ACCOUNT REQUIRED to watch videos. To create an account on Kanopy, use the orange Visit the Normandale Collection button. If you already have a Kanopy account, sign in using the Login link.
The Library pays a per-view fee for Kanopy. To keep costs down, only use Kanopy for educational purposes.
Suggested titles: Meeting at Tule Lake, To Be Takei, The Red Pines, Rabbit in the Moon
Contains 209 photographs from Ansel Adams' 1943 visit to Manzanar War Relocation Center in California.
JARDA: Japanese American Relocation Digital Archives
Published by the University of California, this site contains photographs organized into four main categories: People, Places, Daily Life, and Personal Experiences.
Primary Source Photographs from the Japanese American Internment
Contains primary source photographs, each with descriptive information (date, place, etc. of image)
