Try one or several of these databases to search for scholarly articles on your topic. Remember, you need at least one scholarly article for your presentation. If there's a specific journal that you like to use you can look for it in our Journal Finder below and browse for your topic.
CINAHL Complete
Peer-reviewed research articles from health care journals, nursing Continuing Education (CE) modules, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheets, and some health care ebooks. The primary database for nursing research.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest)
Articles from academic and trade publications in nursing and allied health professions. Includes a video library of clinical trainings in nursing..
ScienceDirect
Journal articles in the health and life sciences.
Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Search for articles on medicine, nursing and allied health.
CINAHL Complete
Peer-reviewed research articles from health care journals, nursing Continuing Education (CE) modules, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheets, and some health care ebooks. The primary database for nursing research.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest)
Articles from academic and trade publications in nursing and allied health professions. Includes a video library of clinical trainings in nursing..
ScienceDirect
Journal articles in the health and life sciences. Health & Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Search for articles on medicine, nursing and allied health.
Some database searches return millions of results. To avoid an overwhelming result list and ensure you get the types of articles you're looking for, try some of the advanced search options. These are the most common limiters but there are many options in the databases:
limit to full text
limit to articles published within the last 5 years (this is a requirement for this assignment)
choose the language of publication (not all articles are published in English)
The example below is from CINHAL Plus but similar options are available in the other databases. If you don't see these options try clicking on "Advanced Search" before entering any terms in the search box.
You do not have to select "full text." This ensures that the title you're looking for is available through the database but sometimes it means you miss out on valuable information. If you choose not to select full text you can still access many of the articles that are not available through the database through Interlibrary Loan. Try "check for full text" first. Often the article you're looking for is available through another database and our system will take you to it. If that doesn't work you can request through ILL. Look for "Interlibrary Loan Request," "Get article from another library," or a similar link. You'll be required to enter your StarID and password to submit the form and you can check the status of any ILL requests in your library account.
limit to full text
limit to articles published within the last 5 years (this is a requirement for this assignment)
choose the language of publication (not all articles are published in English)
The example below is from CINHAL Plus but similar options are available in the other databases. If you don't see these options try clicking on "Advanced Search" before entering any terms in the search box.
You do not have to select "full text." This ensures that the title you're looking for is available through the database but sometimes it means you miss out on valuable information. If you choose not to select full text you can still access many of the articles that are not available through the database through Interlibrary Loan. Try "check for full text" first. Often the article you're looking for is available through another database and our system will take you to it. If that doesn't work you can request through ILL. Look for "Interlibrary Loan Request," "Get article from another library," or a similar link. You'll be required to enter your StarID and password to submit the form and you can check the status of any ILL requests in your library account.
Journal Title Search
Examples:
**Hint: Select "Title contains all words" and search Nursing to find all journals that contain the word Nursing in the title.**
Two Especially Useful Journals:
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Here you can find full text articles from the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, ranging from the start of the Journal in 2012 to the present. Prior to 2012, this publication was known as the Journal of the American Dietetic Association, but you can search for articles from both journal names here.
Journal of the American Dietetic Association
Here you can find full-text articles from the Journal of the American Dietetic Association from 1995 to 2011, when the name was then changed to the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
The Normandale library subscribes to the following nursing journals in print:
American Journal of Nursing
Browse these journals for articles and topic ideas. Current issues do not circulate but back issues are available at the circulation desk and may be checked out for a week at a time.
If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.
Examples:
American Journal of Nursing
MedSurg Nursing
Journal of Community Nursing
Nursing Management
Journal of Community Nursing
Nursing Management
**Hint: Select "Title contains all words" and search Nursing to find all journals that contain the word Nursing in the title.**
Two Especially Useful Journals:
Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Here you can find full text articles from the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, ranging from the start of the Journal in 2012 to the present. Prior to 2012, this publication was known as the Journal of the American Dietetic Association, but you can search for articles from both journal names here.
Journal of the American Dietetic Association
Here you can find full-text articles from the Journal of the American Dietetic Association from 1995 to 2011, when the name was then changed to the Journal of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics.
The Normandale library subscribes to the following nursing journals in print:
American Journal of Nursing
Journal of Nursing Education
Nursing
Nursing Research
Browse these journals for articles and topic ideas. Current issues do not circulate but back issues are available at the circulation desk and may be checked out for a week at a time.
Book Search
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics (EatRight.org)
Eat Right, the website for the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, has many resources for consumers on nutrition-related topics and conditions.
Food Allergy Research and Education (FARE)
FARE is the result of a merger between the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network and the Food Allergy Initiative. The website has many educational articles for consumers managing food allergies.
Eat Right, the website for the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics, has many resources for consumers on nutrition-related topics and conditions.
Food Allergy Research and Education (FARE)
FARE is the result of a merger between the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network and the Food Allergy Initiative. The website has many educational articles for consumers managing food allergies.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Understanding Scholarly Sources
When conducting research, it is important to distinguish between different types of articles. This guide explains the differences between scholarly, popular, and trade publications using examples from the food/nutrition world!
When conducting research, it is important to distinguish between different types of articles. This guide explains the differences between scholarly, popular, and trade publications using examples from the food/nutrition world!
Interlibrary Loan
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
Blank Request Form (StarID login)
APA Quick Guide (PDF)
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
If you need more specific help with APA style the APA web site has a tutorial on their web site. You can choose which sections of the tutorial you want to watch by clicking on the titles on the right.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.
Don't forget that our catalog and scholarly databases provide citations for you! Look for "citation" or "cite this" when you're looking at the record for an article or book. Choose APA and be sure to double check the formatting--they're not always 100% accurate and it's a silly place to lose points.
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
If you need more specific help with APA style the APA web site has a tutorial on their web site. You can choose which sections of the tutorial you want to watch by clicking on the titles on the right.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.
Don't forget that our catalog and scholarly databases provide citations for you! Look for "citation" or "cite this" when you're looking at the record for an article or book. Choose APA and be sure to double check the formatting--they're not always 100% accurate and it's a silly place to lose points.