CINAHL Complete
Peer-reviewed research articles from health care journals, nursing Continuing Education (CE) modules, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheets, and some health care ebooks. The primary database for nursing research.
Note: For more help using CINAHL, watch this video tutorial.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest)
Articles from academic and trade publications in nursing and allied health professions. Includes a video library of clinical trainings in nursing..
Medical Database (ProQuest)
Articles from health care and clinical science journals. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE.
NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines)
Evidence-based information on dietary supplements (herbs, vitamins, minerals), and other complementary or alternative treatments.
Health & Wellness (Gale)
Both academic and non-academic articles on health and wellness topics.
Need more options?
The library has many more health-related databases. Use this link to find more databases to search:
Nursing & Allied Health Databases
Full list of Normandale Library's Nursing and Allied Heath Databases
Peer-reviewed research articles from health care journals, nursing Continuing Education (CE) modules, standards of practice, evidence-based care sheets, and some health care ebooks. The primary database for nursing research.
Note: For more help using CINAHL, watch this video tutorial.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest)
Articles from academic and trade publications in nursing and allied health professions. Includes a video library of clinical trainings in nursing..
Medical Database (ProQuest)
Articles from health care and clinical science journals. Includes citations and abstracts from MEDLINE.
NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines)
Evidence-based information on dietary supplements (herbs, vitamins, minerals), and other complementary or alternative treatments.
Health & Wellness (Gale)
Both academic and non-academic articles on health and wellness topics. Need more options?
The library has many more health-related databases. Use this link to find more databases to search:
Nursing & Allied Health Databases
Full list of Normandale Library's Nursing and Allied Heath Databases
Journal Title Search
Examples:
**Hint: Select "Title contains all words" and search Nursing to find all journals that contain the word Nursing in the title.**
If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.
Examples:
American Journal of Nursing
MedSurg Nursing
Journal of Community Nursing
Nursing Management
Journal of Community Nursing
Nursing Management
**Hint: Select "Title contains all words" and search Nursing to find all journals that contain the word Nursing in the title.**
The Normandale library subscribes to the following nursing journals in print:
American Journal of Nursing
Browse these journals for articles and topic ideas.
The library also has additional, older nursing journals. To find more print journals, use the library catalog. Use the advanced search, set the format to periodical, set the drop-down to subject, and search 'nursing'.
Book Search
**Hint: to find specific articles from any of these journals, try the Journal Finder above and seach online.**
American Journal of Nursing
Journal of Nursing Education
Nursing
Nursing Research
Browse these journals for articles and topic ideas.
The library also has additional, older nursing journals. To find more print journals, use the library catalog. Use the advanced search, set the format to periodical, set the drop-down to subject, and search 'nursing'.
Book Search
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
**Hint: to find specific articles from any of these journals, try the Journal Finder above and seach online.**
What are Scholarly Sources?
Scholarly sources, sometimes referred to as an academic source, are articles written by experts, scholars or researchers and are published for other experts, scholars, researchers and students. The articles are published in scholarly journals and the information is often peer-reviewed by experts in that field. When peer-reviewed, the information and research is evaluated and assessed for quality before it is published. The author and authors are presenting new information to the reader that was usually created by a research study where they collected data through research methods.
What is the Purpose of a Scholarly Source?
The purpose of scholarly sources is to inform the reader. But it is sometimes also meant to advance and expand research or knowledge in a field, which also expands the understanding, theory and practice in that field for everyone.
The big difference between scholarly information and information found in popular websites and magazines is the purpose. Popular sources are meant to entertain and create revenue for the publisher, while scholarly sources are meant to inform and advance a field of study.
What do they Look Like?
Scholarly articles have common attributes that are often represented with section headings, which are common sections of a research article, they include, abstract, literature review, methods, summary, conclusion, discussion, bibliography, charts or graphs.
The content will be lengthy and you will not find a lot of color images or advertisements.
Within the text of the article, you will find many citations.
The language is technical and the vocabulary is advanced.
Where do I find a Scholarly Source?
You will find these articles through the library databases, such as Academic Search Premier, Expanded Academic ASAP, JSTOR, PsycArticles.
To access a list of all of our databases that is organized by subject go here, Article Databases by Subject
Scholarly sources, sometimes referred to as an academic source, are articles written by experts, scholars or researchers and are published for other experts, scholars, researchers and students. The articles are published in scholarly journals and the information is often peer-reviewed by experts in that field. When peer-reviewed, the information and research is evaluated and assessed for quality before it is published. The author and authors are presenting new information to the reader that was usually created by a research study where they collected data through research methods.
What is the Purpose of a Scholarly Source?
The purpose of scholarly sources is to inform the reader. But it is sometimes also meant to advance and expand research or knowledge in a field, which also expands the understanding, theory and practice in that field for everyone.
The big difference between scholarly information and information found in popular websites and magazines is the purpose. Popular sources are meant to entertain and create revenue for the publisher, while scholarly sources are meant to inform and advance a field of study.
What do they Look Like?
Scholarly articles have common attributes that are often represented with section headings, which are common sections of a research article, they include, abstract, literature review, methods, summary, conclusion, discussion, bibliography, charts or graphs.
The content will be lengthy and you will not find a lot of color images or advertisements.
Within the text of the article, you will find many citations.
The language is technical and the vocabulary is advanced.
Where do I find a Scholarly Source?
You will find these articles through the library databases, such as Academic Search Premier, Expanded Academic ASAP, JSTOR, PsycArticles.
To access a list of all of our databases that is organized by subject go here, Article Databases by Subject
Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try. You may have to try several of these databases to find all the information you need.
If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Developing a list of keywords before you start searching in a database will help your research. Think about your topic. What are the keywords? What are synonyms for those keywords? What are other, related words? Make a list of words and then mix and match them in the databases to help you find articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.
If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords. Developing a list of keywords before you start searching in a database will help your research. Think about your topic. What are the keywords? What are synonyms for those keywords? What are other, related words? Make a list of words and then mix and match them in the databases to help you find articles. As you research, be on the lookout for new keywords to use.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
National Guideline Clearinghouse
A database of publicly available, evidence-based, clinical practice guidelines from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
A database of publicly available, evidence-based, clinical practice guidelines from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality.
Interlibrary Loan
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
Blank Request Form (StarID login)
APA Quick Guide (PDF)
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.
MedlinePlus
Health information for patients and the general public including medical conditions, genetic conditions, drugs, and clinical trials.
Minnesota Department of Health Find health information in Minnesota. Covers local organizations and data, as well as many health issues and information.
Agency for Health Research and Quality Find information about healthcare services from the US Department of Health and Human services. Click on Research Tools & Data to find Evidence-Based Reports.
Health information for patients and the general public including medical conditions, genetic conditions, drugs, and clinical trials.
Minnesota Department of Health Find health information in Minnesota. Covers local organizations and data, as well as many health issues and information.
Agency for Health Research and Quality Find information about healthcare services from the US Department of Health and Human services. Click on Research Tools & Data to find Evidence-Based Reports.
From the National Library of Medicine, the definition of MeSH Terms: MeSH is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus. The MeSH thesaurus is used by NLM for indexing articles for the MEDLINE/PubMED®.
This controlled vocabulary is also used by most of the medical reseaerch databases for article indexing. Knowing the MeSH terms for your topic will greatly benefit your searching.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/mesh
This controlled vocabulary is also used by most of the medical reseaerch databases for article indexing. Knowing the MeSH terms for your topic will greatly benefit your searching.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/mesh