Research Guide for

PHIL 1150 Introduction to World Religions (Bedecarre)

Find Books

Credo Reference
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.


Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.


 
The following Subject Headings will lead to you all of the items in the Normandale Library on a particular religion.  You may browse through these selections or further narrow your results by topic, date, format, etc. 

Find Articles

Use the library's online databases to find scholarly journal articles.  Also called peer-reviewed, these articles reflect the latest research of experts in a field. They are often very specific, complex, and include substantial bibliographies. If an article you like does not appear in full text, click on the "Find Full Text" link to see if the full text is available in another database.

JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.


Project MUSE
Provides full text articles from journals that cover literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.

Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.

 

 

Find Images

Artstor
ARTstorArtstor is a cross-disciplinary image database. It offers collections of approximately 300,000 art images and descriptive information covering art, architecture and archeology. ARTstor's accompanying software tools will support a wide range of pedagogical and research uses including: viewing and analyzing images through features such as zooming and panning, saving groups of images online for personal or shared uses, and creating and delivering presentations both online and offline.

World Religions Photo Library
World Religions Photo Library specialises in the major faiths of Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Buddhism, Judaism and Sikhism - places of worship, rites of passage and sacred sites. Stock also includes minority religions, ancient and modern cults, sacred foods, festivals plus ecclesiastical and votive objects.
 

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email
 

 
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.

Cite your Sources (MLA)

MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

Find Web Resources

The following Internet sites offer high quality, reliable information. 


BBC World Service: Your Guide to World Religions
Brief descriptions of major religions and useful links.

Hinduism Today


Internet Sacred Texts Archive
Largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet. The site is dedicated to religious tolerance and scholarship, and has the largest readership of any similar site on the web.

Online Catholic Encyclopedia
The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.

Shambala Sun
A Buddhist publication from California.

Virtual Religion Index
Analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites. Arrangement is topical and covers such aspects of religious studies as archaeology, sociology, psychology, philosophy, as well as major world religious traditions.