Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Book Search
The following Subject Headings will lead to you all of the items in the Normandale Library on a particular religion. You may browse through these selections or further narrow your results by topic, date, format, etc.
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more. Gale eBooks
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects. Book Search
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
The following Subject Headings will lead to you all of the items in the Normandale Library on a particular religion. You may browse through these selections or further narrow your results by topic, date, format, etc.
- Atheism
- Buddhism
- Christianity or Catholic Church or Protestant Churches or Eastern Orthodox Church
- Confucianism
- Hinduism
- Islam or Muslim Journeys Bookshelf, an interdisciplinary collection of 25 books and 3 films that was awarded to Normandale in 2013, includes books on Islamic history, literature, culture, etc.
- Judaism
- Mysticism
- Paganism -- Neopaganism (contemporary information) or Witchcraft (historical information)
- Taoism
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database. JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.
The following Internet sites offer high quality, reliable information.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A "dynamic" reference work, with each entry maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
BBC World Service: Your Guide to World Religions
Brief descriptions of major religions and useful links.
Hinduism Today
Internet Sacred Texts Archive
Largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet. The site is dedicated to religious tolerance and scholarship, and has the largest readership of any similar site on the web.
Online Catholic Encyclopedia
The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.
Shambala Sun
A Buddhist publication from California.
Virtual Religion Index
Analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites. Arrangement is topical and covers such aspects of religious studies as archaeology, sociology, psychology, philosophy, as well as major world religious traditions.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A "dynamic" reference work, with each entry maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field.
BBC World Service: Your Guide to World Religions
Brief descriptions of major religions and useful links.
Hinduism Today
Internet Sacred Texts Archive
Largest freely available archive of online books about religion, mythology, folklore and the esoteric on the Internet. The site is dedicated to religious tolerance and scholarship, and has the largest readership of any similar site on the web.
Online Catholic Encyclopedia
The Catholic Encyclopedia, as its name implies, proposes to give its readers full and authoritative information on the entire cycle of Catholic interests, action and doctrine.
Shambala Sun
A Buddhist publication from California.
Virtual Religion Index
Analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites. Arrangement is topical and covers such aspects of religious studies as archaeology, sociology, psychology, philosophy, as well as major world religious traditions.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
MLA Quick Guide (PDF)
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.
Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.