Research Guides

POLS 1130 US Politics (Klages)

Find Articles
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.

The Economist

A weekly magazine covering international politics, economics, and business news. This link accesses The Economist through Academic OneFile.

How to Search: ​Enter a country name and/or topic in the "Search Within Publication" box to find articles mentioning those words.

screenshot of Economist search interface


4 Major U.S. Newspapers
Search for articles within the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Los Angeles Times, and Chicago Tribune

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
 
Find Films
Films On Demand
Films On Demand is a streaming video service containing documentaries and other educational films on many different topics. 
 
Find Books
Search Using Keywords
Watch the Northwestern University Libraries video to learn how to use your topic question to come up with keywords (search terms).

Ask a Librarian
Ask Us logo

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

photo of LaceyLacey Mamak
Reference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus

Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
MLA Quick Guide
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).

MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page.

Powered by SubjectsPlus