POLS 1132 Introduction to Comparative Politics (Klages)

Use the library's online databases to find all types of articles. from scholarly research articles to magazine and newspaper articles. The databases listed below also allow users to limit searches to articles published in particular countries. If an article you like does not appear in full text, click on the "Find Full Text" link to see if the full text is available in another database. 

If you're not sure which database to use, ask a librarian!

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database.


ProQuest News & Newspapers

News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
 

Country Overviews​​

• CountryWatch
  ACountry Reviews on each country in the world with current demographic, political, economic, and social information. News stories searchable by country in the Country Wire section.

 

• A to Z the World
  Country reports for most countries with basic geography and politics, human rights and religious freedom information, descriptions of business culture, and travel warnings. ​

Statistical Data and Vizualizations

• NationMaster
  Using data compiled from the CIA World Factbook, the United Nations, and the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), NationMaster.com allows users to generate custom tables and graphs comparing statistical data between any two countries.

 

• World Bank Databank
  The Databank is a collection of statistical databases developed by the World Bank. The databases provide economic, gender, health, education, and poverty statistics.

 

• UN Data
  This site searches all the UN's statistical databases (e.g. population, health, crime, environment, labor, etc.) at once.

The library has many books on different countries and topics. Try searching for your country and/or your concept. If you find a book you like, write down the call number, which is like the book's address, and someone in the library will be happy to help you find the book on the shelf.

Book Search