Research Guide for

POLS 1150 World Politics & Globalization (Klages)

News and Newspapers
Trying to pick a news topic? Try browsing the United Nations News Centre!

UN News Centre
The official news service of the UN. This website includes articles, radio broadcasts, live TV coverage, and press releases from the United Nations.

ProQuest News & Newspapers
Provides full text coverage of thousands of U.S. newspapers.

The Economist

A weekly magazine covering international politics, economics, and business news. This link accesses The Economist through Academic OneFile.

How to Search: ​Enter a country name and/or topic in the "Search Within Publication" box to find articles mentioning those words.

screenshot of Economist search interface


Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.
 
Background Info on Countries
Find Data and Statistics by Country
Books, Reference, and Academic Journals
Academic journal articles provide in-depth research on specific topics.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.

Project MUSE
Provides full text articles from journals that cover literature, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and more.

Gale eBooks
Gale eBooks is a collection of full-text e-books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other reference books in biography, history, literature, medicine, and more.

Credo Reference
Credo logoCredo Reference contains dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, biographies, handbooks, atlases, and more.

You may also use books as sources for your presentation.

Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

 

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.



The Combined Search searches books + databases.

Combined Search

Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.

Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.

 
Ask a Librarian
Evaluate Your Sources
Access Databases from Off Campus
Cite your Sources (MLA)