Sometimes the hardest part of researching is getting started and choosing a topic. Watch this video from North Carolina State University to find out more about choosing a topic:
Book Search
Subject Headings: Try these subjects to find books.
Conflict management
Dispute resolution (law)
Mediation
Peace
Negotiation
Classic Books in Dispute Resolution and Mediation*
Bercowitch, Jacob. Social Conflicts and Third Parties. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1984.
Blalock, Humbert M. Power and Conflict: Towards a General Theory. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1989.
Fisher, Roger, Elizabeth Kopelman, and Andrea Kupfer Schneider. Beyond Machiavelli: Tools for Coping with Conflict. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1994.
Moore, Christopher W. The Mediation Process: Practical Strategies for Resolving Conflict. 2nd ed. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1996.
*Note: if one of these books is not available in the Normandale Library use the Interlibrary Loan information on the right to request the book from another library.
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Subject Headings: Try these subjects to find books.
Conflict management
Dispute resolution (law)
Mediation
Peace
Negotiation
Classic Books in Dispute Resolution and Mediation*
Bercowitch, Jacob. Social Conflicts and Third Parties. Boulder, CO: Westview Press, 1984.
Blalock, Humbert M. Power and Conflict: Towards a General Theory. Newbury Park, CA: Sage Publications, 1989.
Fisher, Roger, Elizabeth Kopelman, and Andrea Kupfer Schneider. Beyond Machiavelli: Tools for Coping with Conflict. Cambridge, MA: Harvard University Press, 1994.
Moore, Christopher W. The Mediation Process: Practical Strategies for Resolving Conflict. 2nd ed. San Francisco, CA: Jossey-Bass Publishers, 1996.
*Note: if one of these books is not available in the Normandale Library use the Interlibrary Loan information on the right to request the book from another library.
If you don't have a particular author or title in mind, try searching in a database by subject or topic:
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Combined Search
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Databases do not understand sentences or "natural language". We have to use keywords -- the main words of our topics -- when searching. Here are some example keywords to use in searching. Mix and match them to find more articles. (Note: this is not an exhaustive list!)
dispute resolution
conflict resolution
conflict management
negotiation
Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) examples: facilitation, negotiation, mediation, arbitration
restorative Justice
peace Circles
victim-Offender Reconciliation Programs (VORP)
truth and Reconciliation commissions
peer mediation (especially in schools)
For more on searching for keywords in databases, watch this video from Norwich University:
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes image results from Artstor. ProQuest News & Newspapers
News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.
Combined Search
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Academic Search Premier (EbscoHost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start. Databases do not understand sentences or "natural language". We have to use keywords -- the main words of our topics -- when searching. Here are some example keywords to use in searching. Mix and match them to find more articles. (Note: this is not an exhaustive list!)
dispute resolution
conflict resolution
conflict management
negotiation
Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) examples: facilitation, negotiation, mediation, arbitration
restorative Justice
peace Circles
victim-Offender Reconciliation Programs (VORP)
truth and Reconciliation commissions
peer mediation (especially in schools)
For more on searching for keywords in databases, watch this video from Norwich University:
Use the library's Journal Finder, to find a specific article from the list below. A bibliography from a book or different article is also a good way to find specific articles.
Journal Title Search
Classic Articles in Dispute Resolution
Aubert V. "Competition and Dissensu: Two Types of Conflict and Conflict Resoluation." Journal of Conflict Resolution 7 (1963): 26-32.
Barsky, A.E. "When Advocates and Mediators Negotiate." Negotiation Journal 9 (1993) 115-122; 273-274.
Lang, Michael, ed. "Transformative Approaches to Mediation". Special Issue. Mediation Quarterly 13(4) (1996).
Journal Title Search
If you know the name of the journal you want to search, use the Journal Title Search to see if it is available in print or online from the library.
Classic Articles in Dispute Resolution
Aubert V. "Competition and Dissensu: Two Types of Conflict and Conflict Resoluation." Journal of Conflict Resolution 7 (1963): 26-32.
Barsky, A.E. "When Advocates and Mediators Negotiate." Negotiation Journal 9 (1993) 115-122; 273-274.
Lang, Michael, ed. "Transformative Approaches to Mediation". Special Issue. Mediation Quarterly 13(4) (1996).
Bibliographies are a great way to find more books and articles. A specialized bibliography will contain a list of resources on a particular topic. Use the links below to find bibliographies related to dispute resolution, peacebuilding, and negotiation. Each bibliography contains books and articles; you can use the library catalog and databases to search for them.
Note: Bibliographies are often best used for browsing. That is, you will not search on these websites. You will explore the resources listed and then search for those resources through the library's catalog and/or databases.
Bibliography of books on alternative dispute resolution (ADR)
A bibliography of dispute resolution from Boston Law Collaborative
Conflict Transformation and Peacebuilding (bibliography)
National Center on Dispute Resolution in Education Bibliography
Note: Bibliographies are often best used for browsing. That is, you will not search on these websites. You will explore the resources listed and then search for those resources through the library's catalog and/or databases.
Bibliography of books on alternative dispute resolution (ADR)
A bibliography of dispute resolution from Boston Law Collaborative
Conflict Transformation and Peacebuilding (bibliography)
National Center on Dispute Resolution in Education Bibliography
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Interlibrary Loan
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
Blank Request Form (StarID login)
Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
APA Quick Guide (PDF)
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.
Many different organizations participate in conflict management, resolution, and negotiations processes. Try these websites to find out more information on mediation and other conflict resolution processes:
Society for Professionals in Dispute Resolution (SPIDR)
International Academy of Mediators (IAM)
George Mason University, School for Conflict Analysis and Resolution (SCAR)
Minnesota Conflict Resolution Center
University of Minnesota, Student Conflict Resolution Center
Saint Paul Dispute Resolution Center (DRC)
Harvard University, Program on Negotiation (PON)
Conflict Management at Iowa
Connflict Resolution resources for teachers
Association for International Arbitration (AIA)
American Arbitration Association (AAA)
Wikimediation
Society for Professionals in Dispute Resolution (SPIDR)
International Academy of Mediators (IAM)
George Mason University, School for Conflict Analysis and Resolution (SCAR)
Minnesota Conflict Resolution Center
University of Minnesota, Student Conflict Resolution Center
Saint Paul Dispute Resolution Center (DRC)
Harvard University, Program on Negotiation (PON)
Conflict Management at Iowa
Connflict Resolution resources for teachers
Association for International Arbitration (AIA)
American Arbitration Association (AAA)
Wikimediation
Try searching for books or articles by author.
Prominent Authors in the field:
Azar, Edward E.
Bercowitch, Jacob.
Blalock, Hubert M.
Boulding, Kenneth
Burton, John.Bush, Robert A.
De Bono, Edward
Kolb, Deborah
Pruitt, Dean G.
Kriesberg, Louis
Lang, Michael
Menkel-Meadow, Carrie
Moore, Christopher W.
Pruit, Dean G.
Rubin, Jeffrey Z.
Prominent Authors in the field:
Azar, Edward E.
Bercowitch, Jacob.
Blalock, Hubert M.
Boulding, Kenneth
Burton, John.Bush, Robert A.
De Bono, Edward
Kolb, Deborah
Pruitt, Dean G.
Kriesberg, Louis
Lang, Michael
Menkel-Meadow, Carrie
Moore, Christopher W.
Pruit, Dean G.
Rubin, Jeffrey Z.