Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
The best way to look for misinformation is to start by looking outside of the article itself! This process is called lateral reading.
Lateral Reading Strategies:
Lateral Reading Strategies:
- Find information on the author: Google the author's name. Do they have a Wikipedia page? A LinkedIn page? A biography on a university or legitimate news site? Read through this information. What is the author's education and experience? Have they written for websites/newspapers/magazines that you are familiar with and trust?
- Check some fact-checking sites for help: Many claims have already been fact-checked for you. Try these sites:
- Find information about that website on Google: A search string that excludes results from that website will be helpful (example: New York Times -nytimes.com).
- Triangulate: Read multiple articles on the same topic. Does one of the articles seem way off from what the others are saying? We call this an outlier and it would probably be best just to disregard that source. This can be difficult when we hear so much about news sources having a political slant or agenda, but it can also be very helpful in finding out what the real story is. For example, read about an issue on CNN and the same issue on Fox News. After that try reading about the issue on a source like BBC. These three stories will probably vary some in the information that is presented. Taken together though, you should have a good idea of what the truth on the issue is.
- Find information on the website using Wikipedia: Wikipedia isn't a source you want to cite in your research paper, but it is helpful for learning about a website or news source. Oftentimes, you will find information on who funds the site or political leanings that are common.
In these databases, you will find the scholarly articles you need for research.
PsycNET
Articles on psychology topics from journals published by the APA (American Psychological Association).
JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives.
Google Scholar
PsycNET
Articles on psychology topics from journals published by the APA (American Psychological Association). JSTOR
Scholarly articles, ebooks, and primary sources in the social sciences, humanities, earth and biological sciences, and more. Includes images from libraries, museums, and archives. Google Scholar
Search for academic articles on publisher and other websites. When you use this link to connect to Google Scholar through the Library, your search results will include links to articles available in Normandale Library databases whenever possible. Look for the "Article @ Normandale Lib." links to access the full article through the Library.
Note: Not all articles in your search results will be available through the Library. Need an article we don’t have? Submit an interlibrary loan request.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.
Types of Sources
Within the broad discourse of a field, there are many different kinds of sources. In academic writing, we usually divide sources into academic or scholarly sources, and popular sources. One central difference is that academic and scholarly sources go through a process called peer review, while popular sources do not.
What is the difference between scholarly sources and popular sources? The Georgetown University Library has a good comparison between the two here.
Popular Sources
- Written by non-experts for a general audience, oftentimes journalists or popular writers
- If an article, published in popular magazines or newspapers (Time, Popular Mechanics, The New York Times) or, if a book, by popular publishing houses (Penguin, Random House)
- Not edited or reviewed by experts before publication
- Often contain no references
- Often have advertising or look flashy and eye-catching
- Written by experts (usually professors) for an academic audience
- If an article, published in an academic journal (The Journal of Academic Emergency Medicine, PMLA, The New England Journal of Medicine) or, if a book, by an academic or university press (Routledge, Oxford University Press)
- If an article, will undergo peer review (see below)
- Edited and reviewed by other experts before publication
- Contain references
- Have minimal or no advertising; look very plain.
What is peer review? The publisher Elsevier has a good overview here. Peer review a process where an academic article is reviewed and edited before it is published in an academic journal. This is a unique process that isn't done by any other type of publication. The article is reviewed by other experts in the field, usually other professors or working professionals. If it doesn't meet high academic standards or contains bad information, it is sent back to the author for revision, or outright rejected. This process ensures that only the best articles are published by academic journals.
Within scholarly sources, there is also the distinction between primary sources and secondary sources. Within the sciences, this is offen the difference between original research and reviews. The BMCC library has a good overview of the difference between primary and secondary sources here.
Primary Research/Original Research
- Experiments, clinical trials, original research conducted by the authors.
- Contains sections about methodology, materials, results, and discussion.
Secondary Sources/Reviews
- Reviews and interprets someone else's original research.
- Summarizes multiple different studies.
- Does not contain methodology, results, or discussion sections.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
David Vrieze DanielsReference and Instruction Librarian
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
APA, MLA & ASA CITATION GUIDES
As you write your paper, you'll need to cite passages and ideas from the sources you've found. Check with your professor which style is preferred for your class or subject matter.
As you write your paper, you'll need to cite passages and ideas from the sources you've found. Check with your professor which style is preferred for your class or subject matter.
Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
Interlibrary Loan
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
If there are books and/or articles that you need for your research that Normandale Library does not own, you can request them through Interlibrary Loan. It usually takes from 3 to 5 days for the requested material to arrive at Normandale Library. This service is free to faculty, staff, and students.
Blank Request Form (StarID login)
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources