What is the difference between a scholarly and popular article?
And what about fake news, and how do we know if it is fake?
Look at this site: Associated Press Not Real News
Take a look at the stories for this week. Did you see any of these on social media? Did you think any of them were real?
Here are three examples. Which is scholarly and which is popular? What clues do you have? Which one is fake or has non-credible information. How do you know?
http://ndcproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=https://psycnet.apa.org/fulltext/2018-65356-005.html
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2018/01/03/4-health-fads-to-start-in-2018/
https://www.bostonglobe.com/news/nation/2019/01/0
And what about fake news, and how do we know if it is fake?
Look at this site: Associated Press Not Real News
Take a look at the stories for this week. Did you see any of these on social media? Did you think any of them were real?
Here are three examples. Which is scholarly and which is popular? What clues do you have? Which one is fake or has non-credible information. How do you know?
http://ndcproxy.mnpals.net/login?url=https://psycnet.apa.org/fulltext/2018-65356-005.html
http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2018/01/03/4-health-fads-to-start-in-2018/
https://www.bostonglobe.com/news/nation/2019/01/0
PsycNET
Articles on psychology topics from journals published by the APA (American Psychological Association).
Use a reference database to help you understand the professional jargon in a scholarly article.
Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more.
Articles on psychology topics from journals published by the APA (American Psychological Association). Use a reference database to help you understand the professional jargon in a scholarly article.
Credo Reference
Articles from dictionaries, general and subject encyclopedias, handbooks, atlases, and more. 
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
David Vrieze DanielsReference and Instruction Librarian
david.vriezedaniels@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Off-Campus Access Info
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
APA Quick Guide (PDF)
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.
APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.