Research Guide for

Phi Theta Kappa Honors in Action (2022-2023)

Combined Search & Databases List

A Selection of Databases

Academic Search Premier + MegaFILE
Search these two multi-disciplinary databases at once to find even more articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

JSTOR
JSTOR contains hundreds of scholarly journals from all disciplines. Full text coverage varies by journal.

PsycARTICLES
Provides full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association and its affiliated associations.

eBooks Collection (EBSCOHost)

Gale eBooks

Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Click on "Full-Text @ NCC Library" to locate the item through the Normandale Library subscriptions. Only items for which Normandale Library has a current subscription will be available for free.

Note: When accessing from off campus, you will be directed to log into the library site before with your StarID and password before you can search in Google Scholar.

Evaluate Source Credibility

Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources

 
More info about CAPPS pdf
 

Types of Sources

Watch the video below to find out the differences between articles from scholarly, trade, and popular publications.

Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email

Lacey Mamak
Reference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
 

Cite Your Sources (APA)

APA Quick Guide (PDF)
A guide to APA citation format based on the 7th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
A comprehensive guide to APA formatting and style (7th edition). See examples of APA formats for papers, References lists, in-text citations, footnotes, and more.