Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Points of View Reference Source
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
CQ Researcher
Reports on controversial issues of national importance (health care, public safety, education, environment, etc.). Each report is on a single topic. Helpful as a topic overview.
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Points of View Reference Source
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues. ProQuest News & Newspapers
News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.
CQ Researcher
Reports on controversial issues of national importance (health care, public safety, education, environment, etc.). Each report is on a single topic. Helpful as a topic overview. Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Topic overviews, opinion articles, and additional sources on social, economic, and political issues.
Use these resources to find general, background information.
Book Search
Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica)
Online version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica with brief overviews of most topics.
Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more.
History E-book Collection (Gale eBooks)
Selected ebooks on American and world history topics from Gale.
Encyclopedia of African American History,1896 to the present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Examines every social movement in American history, covering each movement's goals, tactics, and impact, as well as its successes and failures.
Extremist Groups: Information for Students
This book provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. The focus is on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilan efforts to counter them.
New Encyclopedia of Judaism
REF BM50 .N49 2002
Comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.
Book Search
Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.
Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Britannica Academic (Encyclopedia Britannica)
Online version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica with brief overviews of most topics. Salem History
Ebook encyclopedias on history topics from Salem Press including primary documents, important events and eras, and more. History E-book Collection (Gale eBooks)
Selected ebooks on American and world history topics from Gale.
Encyclopedia of African American History,1896 to the present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape. Encyclopedia of American Social Movements
Examines every social movement in American history, covering each movement's goals, tactics, and impact, as well as its successes and failures. Extremist Groups: Information for Students
This book provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. The focus is on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilan efforts to counter them.
IInfo dInformation for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf
ffffInformation for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf
Information for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf
Information for Students provides an overview and history of 150 extremist organizations worldwide that are active today. Arranged alphabetically by group across two volumes, entries average 32,000 words, follow a standard set of rubrics, and focus on when and why the groups were established, their agendas and tactics, and government and civilian efforts to counter them. - See more at: http://www.cengage.com/search/productOverview.do?Ntt=extremist+groups||21064377414577205068384629551033655593&N=197&Ntk=APG%7C%7CP_EPI&Ntx=mode%2Bmatchallpartial#sthash.yTFsDFjW.dpuf
New Encyclopedia of Judaism
REF BM50 .N49 2002
Comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements.
The Smithsonian -- Many of the Smithsonian museum websites have historical information.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Selected manuscripts, photographs, letters, sheet music, maps, and other items organized into collections by topic and format. Mostly focused on American history and culture, but includes some world history collections.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
Selected manuscripts, photographs, letters, sheet music, maps, and other items organized into collections by topic and format. Mostly focused on American history and culture, but includes some world history collections.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Daily Life through History
Information on the daily lives of peoples throughout history from prehistory to the present. Includes overview articles and primary sources like maps, images, and documents.
New York Times - Historical Access (ProQuest)
New York Times newspaper articles from 1851 - 4 years ago.
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
News articles from U.S. newspapers. Includes the Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Star Tribune, and many local newspapers.
Daily Life through History
Information on the daily lives of peoples throughout history from prehistory to the present. Includes overview articles and primary sources like maps, images, and documents. New York Times - Historical Access (ProQuest)
New York Times newspaper articles from 1851 - 4 years ago.
- Spend time thinking about your topic and brainstorming related words and synonyms.
- Research is a process. You probably won’t find everything you need on the first try.
- If you can’t find much on your topic, try different keywords or a new database.
- Try synonyms of your keywords to find more articles.
- If you have questions about keywords or which databases to use, ask a librarian!
Choosing and Using Keywords
From the library at California State University, San Bernardino.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Luke MosherReference and Instruction Librarianluke.mosher@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Online Library Access Info
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
Evaluate each source you use with CAPPS!
Consider the source's –
Consider the source's –
C = Currency
A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources
More info about CAPPS A = Author
P = Publication
P = Point of View
S = Sources