Find Literature, Film, Radio, or TV Sources
Searches all Gale literature databases at once: Gale Literature Criticism, Gale Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Scribner Writers Series, Twayne's Author Series, Something About the Author, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Literary analysis of authors, their novels and poetry, and literary themes.
Find Music Sources
Includes Grove Music Online, a frequently updated music encyclopedia with overviews of musicians, compositions, genres, and other music topics. Also includes the Oxford Companion to Music and Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Note: Our subscription allows only one person at a time to use Oxford Music Online. When you are finished, close your web browser to log off. If someone is already viewing the site and you cannot access it, check back again in 30 minutes.
Musicians & Composers of the 20th Century
Biographical and critical essays on the men and women who made an impact on music from 1901 to 2000. Every essay contains standard ready-reference top matter offering easy access to biographical information, including the name of the musician as best known, the individual's nationality and musical identity, a brief paragraph explaining the individual's significance in the history of music, birth and death dates, and any additional names the individual might be known as. A section on "Principal Works/Principal Recordings," which lists the individual's major works or recordings by genre, follows.
Find Art Sources
Images from museums and archives covering the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
Note: To download images, first register for a free Artstor account.
Find Other Sources - All Topics
Selected dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reference books in many subjects.
Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Ask a Librarian
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Cite your Sources (MLA)
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (8th edition).
MLA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
This website offers examples for the general format of MLA research papers, in-text citations, and the Works Cited page. Uses MLA 9th edition.