Install the LibKey Nomad browser extension to connect to library databases from Google Scholar, Wikipedia references, and publisher websites. Download the extension and set your library as Normandale.
Video: LibKey Nomad Explained. Combined Search helps find articles, books, and videos from the library collection.
Note: Combined Search results include both online content and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a book (PDF) be held for pickup.
Google Scholar
Search for academic articles on publisher and other websites. When you use this link to connect to Google Scholar through the Library, your search results will include links to articles available in Normandale Library databases whenever possible. Look for the "Article @ Normandale Lib." links to access the full article through the Library.
Note: Not all articles in your search results will be available through the Library. Need an article we don’t have? Submit an interlibrary loan request.
Search the 5 major U.S. newspapers all at once. Includes New York Times (including the Magazine and Book Review), Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal (including WSJ magazine). Not included in Combined Search.
Salem History
History ebooks from the Salem Publishing company. The Decades books can be helpful for establishing American social contexts in the 20th century.
A to Z the World
Profiles of countries including overviews of culture and politics. These may be helpful if your film or TV show takes place in a non-U.S. cultural or geographic context. Not included in Combined Search.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost)
Articles in all subjects from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers. An all-purpose database and often a good place to start.
Can't find what you're looking for? Try a different database:
All Library Databases by Subject/Type
All of the library's online collections, organized by subject or type.
Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!
(952) 358-8290
Email
Lacey MamakReference and Instruction Librarian
lacey.mamak@normandale.edu
Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.
To access databases and other Library resources, login with your StarID and password when prompted. Access is only available to current Normandale students and employees.
See MLA citation examples for the most common types of sources (9th edition). Includes example citations for films and TV shows.