Research Guide for

WMST1121 Women Across Cultures (Fitzpatrick)

Find Books
Book Search

Book Search searches the listing of books and ebooks available at the Normandale Library.

Note: Book Search results include both online ebooks and paper books available for pickup at the library. Follow these instructions to request a paper book (PDF) be held for pickup.



Women's Rights Books at Normandale Library
Here is a link to all the Normandale Library books and audio/visual materials on the subject of women's rights.
Find Articles
A to Z the World
Country reports for 175 countries include basic geography and political information as well as descriptions of business culture, human rights and religious freedom information, and travel warnings.

CountryWatch Country Reviews
An up-to-date source of information on countries of the world. CountryWatch provides both basic statistic and in-depth information on political and social conditions.

Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database designed specifically for academic institutions. It includes articles from academic journals, popular magazines, and major newspapers.

Academic OneFile (Gale)
Academic OneFile (Gale)Academic OneFile offers sources on a wide range of topics from scholarly journals and magazines and newspapers.


CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher report is dedicated to a single topic and is researched and written by a journalist. Each report includes background and chronology, an assessment of the current situation, pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions, and bibliographies of further reading.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar allows you to search the Web for peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts, and articles available from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Click on "Full-Text @ NCC Library" to locate the item through the Normandale Library subscriptions. Only items for which Normandale Library has a current subscription will be available for free.

Note: When accessing from off campus, you will be directed to log into the library site before with your StarID and password before you can search in Google Scholar.


 
Find Internet Resources
UN WomenWatch

"Womenwatch is the central gateway to information and resources on the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women throughout the United Nations system."

Two areas of the website are particularly helpful:
Human Rights Watch
Human Rights Watch is an international nonprofit organization that advocates for human rights. The website has current information on human rights issues, and the publications page can be searched by topic or country.
 
Ask a Librarian

Call, e-mail, or chat with a librarian for more research assistance. We're happy to help!

  (952) 358-8290

 Email
 

 
 

Note: Your chat question may be directed to a librarian from another college when Normandale librarians are unavailable.

Access Databases from Off Campus
Access Databases from Off Campus
In order to access databases and other Library resources from off campus, login with your StarID and password when prompted.  Off-campus access to library databases is only available to current Normandale students, staff, and faculty.
Evaluate Your Sources
Evaluating Internet Resources
Criteria to use when evaluating the quality of an Internet site. 

Evaluating Web Pages: Techniques to Apply & Questions to Ask
(from UC Berkeley)

Evaluating Sources Chart
from Oakland University Libraries
Thesis Statements and APA Citations
Thesis Statements

Purdue Owl

UW-Madison

APA Citations

APA Quick Guide
A guide to APA citation format based on the 6th edition of the APA Publication Manual.

APA Documentation Guide (UW-Madison)
Wisconsin's APA citation guide is a little more geared toward the beginner.

APA Formatting and Style Guide (OWL at Purdue)
APA (American Psychological Association) is most commonly used to cite sources within the social sciences. This resource, revised according to the 6th edition of the APA manual, offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and the reference page.
Slightly more advanced than Wisconsin.