Guide Overview

Resources for Education research and study.
Keep Current
Ask a Librarian
Librarians from SCSU and across the country are online and ready to assist you. Enter your email so our librarians can follow up with you if necessary.   
 
Search Databases for Scholarly Articles
Find Articles After You Graduate
ELM logo
After you graduate from SCSU, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your local public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota (eLibraryMN)

On the ELM homepage, click All Databases. Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and several other databases are available for you to search.

If you find an article that isn't available in full text, you may be able to order it through interlibrary loan at your public library.
Database Search Tips

Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost - Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo.


Library databases contain scholarly information that is not usually freely available through Google. Searching the databases can be challenging because they work differently than Google.
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Accessing Full Text Articles
When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:


If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:

If an online full text option is not available, you will either see information about where the physical item is in the library OR be prompted to Sign in to order the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Materials in the Library

Miller Center West Basement

Most Education books are in the West Basement of the library and organized by call numbers starting with:

L = Education (general)
LA = History of Education
LB = Theory and Practice of Education
LC = Special Aspects of Education
LD - LG = Individual Institutions
LH = College and School Magazines and Papers
LJ = Student Fraternities and Societies
LT = Textbooks


Husky Fetch Use Husky Fetch to retrieve books from our collection. We'll pull the book for you and notify you when it's ready for you check out.

Library Access for Distance Students
Find Books from the Library

Search for Books and More or Books Only

Find books, videos, DVDs, government documents, music scores, and more. To find the items in the library, look for the library location and call number.
 
Search for Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).

Dissertations and Theses
Catalog of all dissertations and thesis cataloged by member libraries in OCLC WorldCat.

 
Search Other Libraries

Great River Regional Library (St. Cloud Public Library)
The public library has a wide variety of fiction and popular materials that complement the academic resources at the SCSU library. Students may Apply for a Free Library Card to borrow materials.

WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
Browse the Library's eBook Collections

Loading...
[Embed videos, recordings, or images you want to highlight here.]
Find Videos
Tips for Evaluating Websites
The Problem With Fake News (and how our students can solve it)

YouTube link: https://youtu.be/xf8mjbVRqao


 fake news tips image
Useful Websites
EdArXiv
A preprint server for the education research community.

ChildStats.gov
The official website of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.

National Center for Education Statistics Unrestricted Resource
This official agency site includes: Education Statistics at a Glance which is comprised of The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics. In addition, there is a searchable database of NCES tables and figures. This search tool lets the user locate all tables/figures published in the inventory of NCES' "Education Statistics Quarterly"; the NEDRC (National Education Data Resource Center) Postsecondary Table Library; and many NCES publications.

Nation's Report Card Unrestricted Resource
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas.

U.S.Dept of Education: Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services
Research findings and statistics are disseminated to educators, policymakers, parents, and the general public in the form of reports and publications.

IRIS Evidence-Based Summaries
Summaries on the effectiveness of instructional strategies and interventions with links to research reports. 

National Center for Special Education Research
Education research on children with disabilities. 

What Works Clearinghouse

Reviews research on education programs, products, practices, and policies, determines which studies meet standards, and summarizes the findings.