Guide Overview
This guide provides a variety of resources for the biology discipline including books, journal databases, guides, tutorials, and more.
Find Background Information
Ask a Librarian
 


Type your question into the box to get live, online research help at any time, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This is a cooperative service of academic libraries, including St. Cloud State University.
Science Writing

Loading...
Search Databases for Scholarly Articles
Find Articles After You Graduate
ELM logo
After you graduate from SCSU, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your local public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota (eLibraryMN)

On the ELM homepage, click All Databases. Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and several other databases are available for you to search.

If you find an article that isn't available in full text, you may be able to order it through interlibrary loan at your public library.
Database Search Tips

Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost - Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo.


Library databases contain scholarly information that is not usually freely available through Google. Searching the databases can be challenging because they work differently than Google.
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Accessing Full Text Articles
When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:


If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:

If an online full text option is not available, you will either see information about where the physical item is in the library OR be prompted to Sign in to order the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Materials in the Library
[Include library map]
 

Miller Center [2nd] Floor

All [philosophy books] are on the [2nd] floor of the library and organized by call numbers starting with:

[B = Philosophy (general)
BC = Logic
BD = Speculative Philosophy
BH = Aesthetics
BJ = Ethics]
Find Books from the Library

Search for Books and More or Books Only

Find books, videos, DVDs, government documents, music scores, and more. To find the items in the library, look for the library location and call number.
 
Search Other Libraries

Great River Regional Library (St. Cloud Public Library)
The public library has a wide variety of fiction and popular materials that complement the academic resources at the SCSU library. Students may Apply for a Free Library Card to borrow materials.

WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
 
Browse the Library's eBook Collections
Featured Book Titles

Loading...
Featured Video Titles
What Darwin Didn't Know - The Modern Science of Evolution
Available in Kanopy

Amazon - instantwatcher - Virus Empire: From SARS to Ebola
Available in Films on Demand

BLUEFIN - Bullfrog Communities
Available in Bullfrog Films
Find Videos
Images
Grey's Anatomy
Online access to the classic anatomy textbook.

Microscopic World>Nanoworld Image Gallery
Microscopic and macroscopic views of our World

The Mouse Brain Library
High-resolution images and databases of brains from many genetically characterized strains of mice.

Vesalius' De Humani Corporis Fabrica
An English translation of Vesalius' first volume (of six) of the famous 1543 guide to human anatomy. Volume One covers bones and ligaments. The site includes essays that put the work in historical context and dissect the book's themes.

Whole Brain Atlas
An image atlas of normal and diseased human brain sections.

Internet Atlas of Histology
Over 1000 histological specimens with accompanying functional description.
Tips for Evaluating Websites
The Problem With Fake News (and how our students can solve it)

YouTube link: https://youtu.be/xf8mjbVRqao


 fake news tips image
Useful Websites
Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library improves research methodology by collaboratively making biodiversity literature openly available to the world as part of a global biodiversity community.

Encyclopedia of Life
Encyclopedia of living species that includes images and videos besides text.

ITIS: Integrated Taxonomic Information System
"...authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world."

National Academy of Sciences
Academy news, directories, publications, awards and PNAS full text.

National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Taxonomy Browser
"The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet."

Tree of Life
A project containing information about the diversity of organisms on Earth, their history, and characteristics.


 
SCSU Aquatic Toxicology Lab