College Counseling and Student Development

Graduate-Level Research

Loading ...

Resources for College Counseling & Student Development research and study.

• Chronicle of Higher Education
  The Chronicle of Higher Education is the premier source of news and statistics about higher education. In addition to an online weekly newspaper, the Chronicle provides valuable in-depth articles on aspects of higher education and is a source of useful statistics on faculty and administrative compensation, admissions, graduation rates, tuition and fees, gender equity, etc. 1998 to present.
• Diverse: Issues In Higher Education
  News, information, and commentary on all diversity issues in higher education in the United States.
• Inside HigherEd
  "Inside Higher Ed is the online source for news, opinion and jobs for all of higher education." You can subscribe to free newsletters including the daily update.

 

• ERIC (EBSCO)
  ERIC is the primary database supporting research in all areas of education, including psychology, administration, and library science.
• Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
  Full-text articles in all subject areas. For scholarly articles, click the check box to limit to Academic (Peer Reviewed) Journals.  
• Google Scholar
  Searches academic papers and other scholarly literature. Go to Settings and set SCSU as your "Library link" to get full text available through the library.
• APA PsycInfo
  APA PsycInfo is the premier source for finding scholarly articles and other information relating to all aspects of psychology and related fields.
• Sociological Abstracts
  The primary database for scholarly articles in sociology, anthropology, social work, and related topics of study.

About Campus**
College Student Journal
Journal of College and University Student Housing
Journal of College Counseling*
Journal of College Student Development
The Journal of Higher Education*
New Directions for Student Services*
Research in Higher Education*
The Review of Higher Education

*Journals have a 12 month on full-text. Request current articles through Interlibrary Loan.
**Full-text access through 2018.
 

After you graduate from SCSU, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your local public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota (eLibraryMN)

On the ELM homepage, click All Databases. Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and several other databases are available for you to search.

If you find an article that isn't available in full text, you may be able to order it through interlibrary loan at your public library.

Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost - Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo.

Library databases contain scholarly information that is not usually freely available through Google. Searching the databases can be challenging because they work differently than Google.

• Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
• Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
• Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
• Use quotation marks around phrases.
• Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).

When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:


If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:

If an online full text option is not available, you will either see information about where the physical item is in the library OR be prompted to Sign in to order the item through Interlibrary Loan.

[Include library map]
 

Miller Center Basement

Most books related to College Counseling are in the basement of the library and organized by call numbers starting with:

[L = Education
LB 2300-2430 = Higher Education]

Search for Books and More or Books Only

Find books, videos, DVDs, government documents, music scores, and more. To find the items in the library, look for the library location and call number.

Husky Fetch Use Husky Fetch to retrieve books from our collection. We'll pull the book for you and notify you when it's ready for you check out.
 

---

Search for Dissertations

Dissertation Abstracts - PQDT Open
Selective index to open access masters theses and dissertations from U.S., Canada, Great Britain, and Europe. Note: This is an open access subset of Dissertation Abstracts International (DAI).

Dissertations and Theses
Catalog of all dissertations and thesis cataloged by member libraries in OCLC WorldCat.

 

---

Search Other Libraries

Great River Regional Library (St. Cloud Public Library)
The public library has a wide variety of fiction and popular materials that complement the academic resources at the SCSU library. Students may Apply for a Free Library Card to borrow materials.

WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.

• Credo Reference
  Provides online access to over 500 reference books (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.) in all subject areas. This is the premier place to look up a quick fact or to search for background information on a research topic.
• Ebooks Minnesota
  "An online ebook collection for all Minnesotans. The collection covers a wide variety of subjects for readers of all ages, and features content from our state’s independent publishers, including some of our best literature and nonfiction.”
• EBSCO eBook collection
  This eBook collection contains full-text e-books covering a variety of topics. These are the digital versions of books and are available 24/7 from on or off campus. For instructions on how to download eBooks from this site, see https://www.ebscohost.com/ebooks/user-experience/downloading-ebooks
• Open Textbook Library
  Textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty, can be downloaded for no cost, and are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
• Project MUSE eBooks
  Thousands of peer-reviewed digital books from major university presses and scholarly publishers.
• SAGE Reference Online
  Provides access to 90 full-text specialized encyclopedias that offer excellent background information on a topic.
• STATSnetBASE
  Searchable full-text editions of almost 800 CRC and Chapman & Hall texts, handbooks, and tables covering a variety of topics in statistics & probability, with applications in health, business, environmental, biological and physical sciences, and engineering. 

[Embed videos, recordings, or images you want to highlight here.]

• Films on Demand
  Search for online educational videos from multiple disciplines and subject areas.
• Kanopy (Media Education Foundation)
  Online videos that encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media, with a special focus on representations of gender and race.