Guide Overview
Electrical Engineering
This subject guide provides links to research resources for general and specific engineering programs.
Find Background Information
Ask a Librarian
 


Type your question into the box to get live, online research help at any time, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This is a cooperative service of academic libraries, including St. Cloud State University.
Search Databases for Scholarly Articles
Find Articles After You Graduate
ELM logo
After you graduate from SCSU, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your local public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota (eLibraryMN)

On the ELM homepage, click All Databases. Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and several other databases are available for you to search.

If you find an article that isn't available in full text, you may be able to order it through interlibrary loan at your public library.
Accessing Full Text Articles
When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:


If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:

If an online full text option is not available, you will either see information about where the physical item is in the library OR be prompted to Sign in to order the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Basic Search in IEEEXplore
Browsing Resources in IEEEXplore
Database Search Tips

Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost - Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo.


Library databases contain scholarly information that is not usually freely available through Google. Searching the databases can be challenging because they work differently than Google.
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Finding Materials in the Library
Miller Center Basement
Science technology books are primarily in the basement of the library and organized by call numbers starting with. Below if the floor map.

Find Books from the Library

Search for Books and More or Books Only

Find books, videos, DVDs, government documents, music scores, and more. To find the items in the library, look for the library location and call number.
 
Search Other Libraries

Great River Regional Library (St. Cloud Public Library)
The public library has a wide variety of fiction and popular materials that complement the academic resources at the SCSU library. Students may Apply for a Free Library Card to borrow materials.

WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
 
Browse the Library's eBook Collections
Featured Books
ROROTOKO : Ethan Tussey On his book The Procrastination Economy ...

Location: Basement
GV181.3 .T87 2018

The Perfectionists: How Precision Engineers Created the Modern ...

Location: Basement
TA19 .W56 2018
 Buy CROSSWORD Never Lost Again: The Google Mapping Revolution That ...
Location: Basement
G70.212 .K545 2018
Featured Titles


Engineering Solar Radiation is crazy: A debate
Available on Films on Demand 



Everyday Engineering
Understanding the Marvels of Everyday Life
Available through Kanopy
 
Find Videos
Images
Creative Commons Flickr Images
"Creative Commons is a non-profit that offers an alternative to full copyright."

ice - Civil Engineering Images
"Historic engineering photos, illustrations and drawings available to download"

National Science Foundation - Multimedia
Free multimedia in the sciences

Pixabay.com
"Over 1.7 million+ high quality stock images and videos shared by our talented community"

Pexels
"...free stock photos and videos."

Unsplash
Freely usable images

vads - Mechanical Engineering Image Collection
"The Mechanical Engineering Image Collection is formed from the archives and historic book collection of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE)."
 
Tips for Evaluating Websites
The Problem With Fake News (and how our students can solve it)

YouTube link: https://youtu.be/xf8mjbVRqao


 fake news tips image
Associations and Organizations
American Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI)

Association for Computing Machinery (ACM)
"ACM, the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession. ACM provides the computing field's premier Digital Library and serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources.American Engineering Association Inc. (AEA)

Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET)

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
IEEE Computer Society

Optical Society (OSA)

Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE)
Useful Websites
efunda
Basic engineering fundamentals: The ultimate online reference for engineers


Engineering Problem Solving: A Classical Perspective
This book fills in many of the gaps in engineering education by showing students and professionals the historical background of problem solving.

Engineering 360
Contains..."critical engineering content, information, insight, tools and community for engineers and technical professionals across multiple industries and disciplines. "

Knovel Critical Tables
This important, interactive Knovel reference contains tables of physical, solvent, and thermodynamic properties. The physical property tables alone include over 21,000 inorganic and organic compounds, and pure substances. The solvent property tables have data for 385 common solvents, and the thermodynamic property tables have data for over 15,000 compounds.
 
Networked Computer Science Technical Reference Library
"An international collection of computer science technical reports from CS departments and industrial and government research laboratories, made available for non-commercial and educational use."

NIST Chemistry WebBook
Provides access to chemical and physical property data for chemical species;data are from collections maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Data are organized by chemical species. Access is free.

NRC Information and Communication Technologies
Standards and Patents
European Patent Office
Simple searches on bibliographic data in patent documents. The default printing option is page by page only - but they are free. To print an entire patent, follow these instructions: Search for a patent. Click on a title; when the page loads, click on the original document tab. When this page displays, the printer icon is grayed out. Click on Save Full Document at the top of the page. Read the screen and enter the letters shown. The entire document loads now as a pdf and all the pages can be printed.

esp@cenet
European Patent Office's esp@cenet provides indexing to over 30 million patent documents from European and other patent offices worldwide. The records provide basic patent information and in many cases an English abstract and image of the first page. Some records provide full-text descriptions, claims, and drawings.

Google Patents
Google Patents includes over 87 million patent publications from 17 patent offices around the world, as well as many more technical documents and books indexed in
Google Scholar and Google Books. Non-English patents are translated, so you can search for them with English keywords.

National Institute of Standards and Technology
NIST's mission is, "to develop and promote measurement, standards, and technology to enhance productivity, facilitate trade, and improve the quality of life."

NTIS: National Technical Information Service
"The largest central resource for government-funded scientific, technical, engineering, and business related information. NTIS assures access to well over 3 million publications covering over 350 subject areas."

Patentscope
"The PATENTSCOPE database provides access to international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications in full text format on the day of publication, as well as to patent documents of participating national and regional patent offices."

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
The full text of over 3,000,000 patents from 1976 to present is searchable at the USPTO site. Bibliographic information is available on millions more. The site also offers filing how-to advice for inventors and information on patent law and intellectual property.
Journal Ranking
Both of the following sources attempt to measure the value or impact of scientific scholarship by journal of publication.  The measures are largely based on the frequency of citations to published articles correlated with the journal ranking.  SCImago also applies similar methodologies to scientific scholarship by country of origin.

Eigenfactor.org
Eigenfactor ranks scholarly journals in the natural and social sciences (and also newsprint, PhD theses, and popular magazines) using citation data and journal price.

ORCID
Connecting Research and Researchers



SCImago Journal & Country Rank
The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database. These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA)
APA Overview
Tools for Formatting Your Citations
When searching library databases for your sources, use the Cite tool and select APA to copy and paste the citation for that source.

NOTE: You must always double-check the formatting that the database provides. It is not always accurate. Look over the format of the authors' names and capitalization in particular.
APA Tutorial and Quiz

 
Click on the image to begin the tutorial.
Citation Information
Citation Styles
Consult examples of APA, MLA, Chicago/Turabian, and other citation styles, and use Mendeley or Zotero to manage your references and format your bibliography.

Council of Science Editors (CSE) Scientific Style
Scientific style and format : the CSE manual for authors, editors, and publishers - Print
Ready Reference T11 .S386 2014

IEEE Editorial Style Manual
"This style manual provides general editing guidelines for IEEE Transactions, Journals, and Letters."  

Scientist's Guide to Poster Design
This is a detailed guide to designing and creating conference poster presentations, with useful tips on software tools and links to other sources of information.

Writing Guidelines for Engineering and Science Students
"These writing guidelines are designed to help engineers and scientists communicate their work.  To that end, these guidelines contain advice and models for writing and speaking situations in engineering and science" -- Pennsylvania State University
APA In-Text Citations

An in-text citation allows your reader to track down a specific source you use in your paper. The in-text citation should provide enough information to point your reader to the full citation in your reference list. An in-text citation must be included when you quote or paraphrase information from one of your sources.

In APA Style, an in-text citation typically includes the author's last name and the date of publication, in parenthesis. If you use a direct quote, include the page number for the reference. For three or more authors, include the first author followed by et al. (Smith et al., 2009, p. 16).

Examples from OWL at Purdue and APA Style Blog:

After the intervention, children increased in the number of books read per week (Smith & Wexwood, 2010). 

Smith and Wexwood (2010) reported that after the intervention, children increased in the number of books read per week. 

According to Jones (1998), "Students often had difficulty using APA style, especially when it was their first time" (p. 199).

Johnson (1984) argued that "the universe..." (as cited in Smith, 2003, p. 102).
APA References List

For a full list of examples, see APA References: Documenting Sources at the End of Your Paper 
(from Excelsior Online Writing Lab)
 
Tips for your reference list:
  • Start the reference list on a new page with the word References at the top.
  • Double-space all reference entries.
  • Use a hanging indent (instructions for Word or Google Docs) where the first line of the reference is left-justified and all subsequent lines are indented.

Sample Papers
 

 
 
Computer Engineering
The following books are available online, click to the image to access the book.

BCS Glossary of Computing


Encyclopedia of Computer Science


The Handy Technology Answer Book


High Performance Computing

 
 
 
Web Resources
CNET Download.com

Compilers.net
 
IEEE Computer Society Resouce Center

Martindale's The "Virtual" Engineering Center – Computer Engineering
A wide variety of "calcutators, applets, and spreadsheets, and where applicable includes courses handbooks, manuals, simulations, animations, videos/movies, etc."

Open DIrectory: Computers
Directory of computing related websites

 
Programmers' Heaven

The Software Engineering Resource Page
Information and links about the sub-specialties of software engineering.

Wolfram Alpha
"
systematic knowledge immediately computable and accessible to everyone."
 
Electrical Engineering
The following books are available online, click on the image to access the book
 
 
Read more about Introduction to Autonomous Robots
 
 
 
Read more about Introduction to Linear, Time-Invariant, Dynamic Systems for Students of Engineering

 
 
Read more about Semiconductor Devices: Theory and Application
 

 
Web Resources
Adafruit: Learn

Datasheet Archive

Digi-Key

EEM.com
GlobalSpec - Engineering 360
OSTI.GOV

Wireless Communication, NSDL Scout Report - Topic in Depth
Reference Books
The following books are available online, click on the link to access the book.  You may need to log in with your Star ID and password.

Book Cover











The Pocket Illustrated Dictionary of Engineering Terms






 



 



 
Web Resources
Engineering Laboratory (NIST)
"The Engineering Laboratory promotes U.S. innovation and industrial competitiveness by advancing measurement science, standards, and technology for engineered systems in ways that enhance economic security and improve quality of life."
 
Intelligent Manufacturing Systems
"IMS invites all regions to join our extensive network and collaborate to shape the future of manufacturong in local regions and globally"

 
Manufacturing Engineering Source Guide
Source guide fo all industries

 
Manufacturing Science and Technology Center
"The Manufacturing Science & Technology Center develops and applies advanced manufacturing processes for realization of products in support of Sandia’s primary mission of ensuring that the nation’s nuclear weapons stockpile is safe, secure, and reliable."
 
 "The National Center for Manufacturing Sciences (NCMS) is a cross-industry technology development consortium, dedicated to improving the competitiveness and strength of the U.S. industrial base."
 

National Council for Advanced Manufacturing (NACFAM)
"NACFAM is the non-partisan voice of advanced manufacturing in Washington, DC, advocating manufacturing-related policy and program solutions to help revitalize the U.S. manufacturing sector..."

NIST Manufacturing Portal
"NIST provides technical support to the nation's manufacturing industries as they strive to out-innovate and outperform the international competition."
 

Physical Measurement Laboratory (NIST)
Manufacturing Technology Measurement and Standards

Reference Books
The following books are available online, you may need to use your Star ID and password to gain access.



Read more about University Physics I: Classical Mechanics

Read more about Introduction to Linear, Time-Invariant, Dynamic Systems for Students of Engineering
 
Web Resources
Mechanical Design Engineering
A wide variety of resources available on the web including associations, publications, components...

Mechanical Engineering Magazine
Leading Magazine from the MIT

Science & Technology Reference Services (Library of Congress)
Science.gov
ThomasNet
Reference Books
The following books are available online. You may need your Star ID and Password to gain access.








 
Web Resources
Computing Research Repository

DataBase Systems & Logic Programming (DBLP): Computer Science Bibliography

IEEE Computer Society
"The IEEE Computer Society is the premier source for information, inspiration, and collaboration in computer science and engineering."
 
Software Engineering Resources