ETHS Course Guides
ETHS 111
ETHS 201
ETHS 215
ETHS 301
Code Switch Podcasts (NPR)

Loading ...

Guide Overview
Resources for Ethnic Studies research and study, including African American, American Indian, Asian Pacific American, Jewish, Latinx/Chicanx, Muslim, and Whiteness Studies
Explore Recent News
New York Times Race/Related 
A weekly newsletter featuring articles focused on race, identity, and culture. 
Find Background Information
Ask a Librarian
Librarians from SCSU and across the country are online and ready to assist you. Enter your email so our librarians can follow up with you if necessary.   
 
Search Databases for Scholarly Articles
Database Search Tips

Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost - Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo.


Library databases contain scholarly information that is not usually freely available through Google. Searching the databases can be challenging because they work differently than Google.
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Accessing Full Text Articles
When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:


If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:

If an online full text option is not available, you will either see information about where the physical item is in the library OR be prompted to Sign in to order the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Find Articles After You Graduate
After you graduate from SCSU, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your local public library to sign into these databases.
 
ELM logo

 

On the ELM homepage, click All Databases. Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and several other databases are available for you to search.

If you find an article that isn't available in full text, you may be able to order it through interlibrary loan at your public library.
Finding Materials in the Library
[Include library map]
 

Miller Center [2nd] Floor

All [philosophy books] are on the [2nd] floor of the library and organized by call numbers starting with:

[B = Philosophy (general)
BC = Logic
BD = Speculative Philosophy
BH = Aesthetics
BJ = Ethics]
Find Books from the Library

Search for Books and More or Books Only

Find books, videos, DVDs, government documents, music scores, and more. To find the items in the library, look for the library location and call number.
 
Search Other Libraries

Great River Regional Library (St. Cloud Public Library)
The public library has a wide variety of fiction and popular materials that complement the academic resources at the SCSU library. Students may Apply for a Free Library Card to borrow materials.

WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
 
Browse the Library's eBook Collections
Featured Titles

Loading...
Featured Titles
Find Videos
Tips for Evaluating Websites
The Problem With Fake News (and how our students can solve it)

YouTube link: https://youtu.be/xf8mjbVRqao


 fake news tips image
Useful Websites
[Add select websites here.]
Websites for news and current issues
American Civil Liberties Union: Racial Justice
Recent events related to racial justice.

Black Perspectives (AAIHS)

Highlights scholarship and writing that "advanc[es] the lives of people of African descent and humanity."

Colorlines
A daily news site published by Race Forward, a national organization that advances racial justice through research, media and practice.


Minnesota Spokesman-Recorder
A Minneapolis-based newspaper representing the viewpoint of African Americans.


The Root
"Provides an unflinching analysis of important issues in the black community through insightful and savvy commentary from black thought-leaders."

The Serendibite

Celebrates current stories that highlight the Black experience in America. 
African American Studies Resources

Demographic data
United States
African American Data Links (U.S. Census)
Data and reports based on the 2010 U.S. Census and the annual American Community Survey.

African American Health (CDC)
Reports and statistics from the Center of Disease Control and Prevention.

African American Health (MedlinePlus)
Links to health issues that affect African Americans, from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

American Community Survey
Provides up-to-date statistical summaries based on US Census data for states, selected cities(with populations greater than 65,000) and counties.


Minnesota
Age, Race, & Ethnicity (MN)
Statistics from the Minnesota State Demographic Center.

Populations of Color and American Indians (MN)
Statistics and other information on racial groups from the Minnesota Department of Health.
Video resources
Films on Demand: African American Studies 
Streaming video on topics related to African American studies.

Kanopy (Media Education Foundation) 
Online videos that encourage critical thinking about the social, political, and cultural impact of American mass media, with a special focus on representations of gender and race.
Historical information
The 1619 Project Reading Guide: Quotes, Key Terms, and Questions
Reflection questions and other activities for engaging with The 1619 Project.

African American Digital Collections (Library of Congress) 
Digitized rare materials from the Library of Congress collections that document African American history and culture. 

African American Newspapers 
Searchable database of approximately 270 U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.

African Americans in Minnesota (MNopedia)
An online encyclopedia about Minnesota developed by the Minnesota Historical Society (MNHS) and its partners.

Encyclopedia of African American History 1896 to the Present
Contains over 1,000 entries by leading scholars and experts, offering highly reliable background information on African American history.

Umbra Search: African American History
Provides access to hundreds of thousands of digitized materials from over 1,000 libraries and archives across the country.
White Culture
Whiteness, White Privilege, and White Supremacy
Talking About Race: Whiteness
Tools and guidance for talking about what it means to be white.

 
White Racial Identity Development
x
White Fragility
x
White Allyship
21-Day Racial Equity Habit Building Challenge (America & Moore)
A customizable plan to further your understanding of power, privilege, supremacy, oppression, and equity. Includes suggestions for readings, podcasts, videos, observations, and ways to form and deepen community connections.

Justice in June
Provides a starting place for individuals trying to become better allies. Offers specific resources for people willing to devote 10, 25, or 45 minutes per day.