HIST Course Guides
[Enter links to all course guides for this rubric.]
Guide Overview
[Optional: upload image -- 500 px wide]

Resources for [subject area(s)] research and study.
Find Background Information
Ask a Librarian
 


Type your question into the box to get live, online research help at any time, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This is a cooperative service of academic libraries, including St. Cloud State University.
Databases
Accessing Full Text Articles
When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:


If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:

If an online full text option is not available, you will either see information about where the physical item is in the library OR be prompted to Sign in to order the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Database Search Tips

Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost - Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo.


Library databases contain scholarly information that is not usually freely available through Google. Searching the databases can be challenging because they work differently than Google.
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Find Articles After You Graduate
ELM logo
After you graduate from SCSU, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your local public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota (eLibraryMN)

On the ELM homepage, click All Databases. Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and several other databases are available for you to search.

If you find an article that isn't available in full text, you may be able to order it through interlibrary loan at your public library.
Finding Materials in the Library
[Include library map]
 

Miller Center [2nd] Floor

All [philosophy books] are on the [2nd] floor of the library and organized by call numbers starting with:

[B = Philosophy (general)
BC = Logic
BD = Speculative Philosophy
BH = Aesthetics
BJ = Ethics]
Find Books from the Library

Search for Books and More or Books Only

Find books, videos, DVDs, government documents, music scores, and more. To find the items in the library, look for the library location and call number.
 
Search Other Libraries

Great River Regional Library (St. Cloud Public Library)
The public library has a wide variety of fiction and popular materials that complement the academic resources at the SCSU library. Students may Apply for a Free Library Card to borrow materials.

WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
 
Browse the Library's eBook Collections
Find Videos
Minnesota
The University of Minnesota, the Minnesota Digital Library, and the Minnesota Historical Society have extensive online collections of primary sources related to Minnesota history.
 
Digital Collections of the University of Minnesota Libraries
Browse and search digital images, manuscripts, maps, video, audio, and more from across the University of Minnesota, in particular the University Libraries’ extensive Archives and Special Collections.
 
Minnesota Digital Library
supports discovery and education through access to unique digital collections shared by cultural heritage organizations from across the state of Minnesota. Our contributors include libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives.
 
Minnesota Historical Society Collections Online
Discover Minnesota history through Collections Online! Search for photographs, three dimensional and archaeological objects, artwork, oral histories, moving images, maps, and more.

Minnesota Newspapers
Online collection from the Chroniclinbg America collection by the Library of Congress.
United States
American Presidency Project
The American Presidency Project has consolidated and organized a wide range of primary source documents of the Presidents. 
 
Annual Reports of the Commissioner of Indian Affairs
Describes government interaction with American Indians.  Full text for 1826-1917 and 1921-1932
 
AP Images (Associated Press)
A source of over 500,000 current and historic photo images, graphic images, audio files, and publicity. Content may be used for educational purposes.
 
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.  The DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more—from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States.
 
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
 
Founders Online
The National Archives created this site and make freely available online the historical documents of the Founders of the United States of America.  Enables users to read and search through thousands of records from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison and see firsthand the growth of democracy and the birth of the Republic.

Indian Affairs: Laws & Treaties
Compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, this  compilation contains U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883  and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970.
 
Internet Archive: Digital Library
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, and more.
 
Library of Congress
Digitized collections of American primary source materials including photographs, posters, maps, letters, diaries, sound recordings, films, books, pamphlets, and sheet music. 
 
National Archives and Records Administration
Provides access to federal and executive government documents. This site is searchable by keyword, title, or citation information.
 
World
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and Diplomacy
A collection of full-text primary source documents in legal and diplomatic history from the Yale Law School. Organized by period and topic and searchable by keyword. Documents include internal links to materials referenced in the text.
 
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from Western Europe
A wealth of primary source material from 22 countries (plus Vatican City). Sites are sorted by country and listed chronologically. Available sources include letters, facsimilies of paintings and photographs, journals, and official documents
 
Guide to Online Primary Sources
Subject listings of primary sources available online from UC San Diego
 
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use. From the outset the site took a very broad view of the sources that should be available to students and as well as documents long associated with a "western civilization" approach to history also provides much information on Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history. You will also find many documents especially relevant to women's history and LGBT studies.
APA Style
APA Tutorial and Quiz

 
Click on the image to begin the tutorial.