[Rubric] Course Guides
[Enter links to all course guides for this rubric.]
New York Times Music Headlines

Loading ...

Guide Overview


Resources for Music History, Music Teaching, and Music Performance research and study.
Find Background Information
Ask a Librarian
 


Type your question into the box to get live, online research help at any time, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This is a cooperative service of academic libraries, including St. Cloud State University.
Search Databases for Scholarly Articles
Find Articles After You Graduate
ELM logo
After you graduate from SCSU, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your local public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota (eLibraryMN)

On the ELM homepage, click All Databases. Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and several other databases are available for you to search.

If you find an article that isn't available in full text, you may be able to order it through interlibrary loan at your public library.
Database Search Tips

Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost - Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo.


Library databases contain scholarly information that is not usually freely available through Google. Searching the databases can be challenging because they work differently than Google.
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Accessing Full Text Articles
When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:


If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:

If an online full text option is not available, you will either see information about where the physical item is in the library OR be prompted to Sign in to order the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Materials in the Library

Miller Center 3rd Floor

All music books and scores are on the 3rd floor of the Miller Center Library. Call numbers starting with:


M = the music itself (both scores and sound recordings)
ML = music literature (materials about music, composers, or music history)
MT = music theory or music instruction and study

All CD sound recordings are kept behind the Circulation Desk on 1st floor; ask for them by call number.
Find Books from the Library

Search for Books, Scores, and More or Books Only
 

Find books, videos, DVDs, government documents, music scores, and more. To find the items in the library, look for the library location and call number.

Start by typing keywords into the search box. When you view the list of search results, you can limit by Resource Type (Articles, Audio (sound recordings), Books/eBooks, Scores, etc.).

If you need to find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, be sure to select the Peer-Reviewed (Scholarly) checkbox.

Image of library catalog

 
Search Other Libraries

Great River Regional Library (St. Cloud Public Library)
The public library has a wide variety of fiction and popular materials that complement the academic resources at the SCSU library. Students may Apply for a Free Library Card to borrow materials.

WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
 
Browse the Library's eBook Collections
Online Scores
Hathi Trust: Women Composers Collection
Digitized sheet music for approximately 3,000 musical works by more than 700 women composers, mostly from the 19th- and early 20th-centuries.
Featured Titles

Loading...
Using the Playlists in Naxos Music Library
For Faculty
Faculty may create playlists on their personal accounts to share with students or create playlists on the SCSU institutional account.

Contact Melissa Prescott at mkprescott@stcloudstate.edu for more information.
Featured Titles
[Embed videos, recordings, or images you want to highlight here.]
Find Videos
Tips for Evaluating Websites
The Problem With Fake News (and how our students can solve it)

YouTube link: https://youtu.be/xf8mjbVRqao


 fake news tips image
Useful Websites
[Add select websites here.]