NURS Course Guides
[Enter links to all course guides for this rubric.]
Nurse.com - News

Loading ...

Diversity Nursing Blog - News

Loading ...

Guide Overview
The information in this guide will help jump start your for research for topics related to nursing, allied health, and evidence-based practice.

Looking for something that isn't here, need to consult with a librarian. You can contact us and set up a consultation through our Ask A Librarian page.
Ask a Librarian
 


Type your question into the box to get live, online research help at any time, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. This is a cooperative service of academic libraries, including St. Cloud State University.
Search Databases for Scholarly Articles
Find Articles After You Graduate
ELM logo
After you graduate from SCSU, you can still access scholarly journal articles through ELM (Electronic Library of Minnesota). You may need a barcode or identification number from your local public library to sign into these databases.

ELM: Electronic Library for Minnesota (eLibraryMN)

On the ELM homepage, click All Databases. Academic Search Premier, Business Source Premier, and several other databases are available for you to search.

If you find an article that isn't available in full text, you may be able to order it through interlibrary loan at your public library.
Database Search Tips

Advanced Searching on EBSCOhost - Tutorial from EBSCO on Vimeo.


Library databases contain scholarly information that is not usually freely available through Google. Searching the databases can be challenging because they work differently than Google.
  • Search by concepts, taking out common words like effect, affect, good, bad, etc.
  • Using AND focuses or limits your search (you get fewer results). Using OR broadens or expands your search (you get more results).
  • Use * to search for different word endings (child* searches child, child's, children, children's but also childbirth) and plurals.
  • Use quotation marks around phrases.
  • Try the Advanced Search. Change the "field" you are search using the pull down menu (for example, search for keywords only in the "Title" of an article).
Accessing Full Text Articles
When searching the databases for articles, look for the one of these links to access full text:


If you don't see full text links, click on the Find It! button to view the easiest way to access the article:

If an online full text option is not available, you will either see information about where the physical item is in the library OR be prompted to Sign in to order the item through Interlibrary Loan.
Finding Materials in the Library
Miller Center [2nd] Floor
Enlarge Map
 

Miller Center Basement
Enlarge Map
Find Books from the Library

Search for Books and More or Books Only

Find books, videos, DVDs, government documents, music scores, and more. To find the items in the library, look for the library location and call number.
 
Search Other Libraries

Great River Regional Library (St. Cloud Public Library)
The public library has a wide variety of fiction and popular materials that complement the academic resources at the SCSU library. Students may Apply for a Free Library Card to borrow materials.

WorldCat
Search for materials beyond SCSU, from thousands of libraries and institutions around the world. Click on the FindIt! button and sign in to and request items through Interlibrary Loan.
 
Browse the Library's eBook Collections
Featured Titles
 

Available in the Library:
2nd Floor
BF698.35.R47 W543 2018
 

Available Online

Rigor Mortis: How Sloppy Science Creates Worthless Cures, Crushes Hope, and Wastes Billions

Available in the Library:
Basement
R852 .H37 2018
Featured Titles
Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight
(Series in Films on Demand))


Medical School for Everyone - Emergency Medicine

Medical School for Everyone
(Kanopy Films)
 
Find Videos
Image Resources
General

Anatomy Videos from Medline Plus
"animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them."
eSkeletons
eSkeletons provides an interactive environment in which to examine and learn about skeletal anatomy through our osteology database"
A Guided Tour of the Visible Human
"This introduction and tour uses images and animals from the project to teach key concepts of human anatomy."

Gray's Anatomy (Online)
"The Bartleby.com edition of Gray’s Anatomy of the Human Body features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn."
HEAL: National Digital Library
"The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education."
HONmedia - Health on the Net - Medical Images
HONmedia contains 6,800 plus medical images and video covering 1,700 topics and themes.

Pathology


MedPix (TM) - Diagnostic Image Atlas
"MedPix is a free open-access online database of medical images, teaching cases, and clinical topics, integrating images and textual metadata including over 12,000 patient case scenarios, 9,000 topics, and nearly 59,000 images."
Microscopic World : Nanoworld Image Gallery
An image gallery containing electron microscopy of biological and health sciences images
Path Pedia
"Global Online Pathology Resource"
WebPath - The Internet Pathology Laboratory for Medical Education
"The WebPath® computer-aided instructional resource at this website contains over 2700 images with text that illustrate gross and microscopic pathologic findings along with radiologic imaging associated with human disease conditions."
CDC - Public Health Image Library
An image library Including "Photographs, Illustrations, Multimedia Files"
The Cell: An Image Library
"This highly interactive site features still images, videos, and animation derived from the recent literature, as well as classic microscopic from earlier studies."
Urbana Atlas of Pathology
A variety of general, cardiovascular, endocrine, pulmonary, and renal pathology images from the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Urbana-Champaign
Virtual Pathology at the Unversity of Leeds - Slide Library
A collection of more than 5,100 pathology slides.
Tips for Evaluating Websites
The Problem With Fake News (and how our students can solve it)

YouTube link: https://youtu.be/xf8mjbVRqao


 fake news tips image
Useful Websites
General
Drug Information Portal (National Library of Medicine)

Associations

American Nurses Association
ANA State Associations
Minnesota Board of Nursing
National Student Nurses' Association
nurse.org - List of nursing associations

Statistics & Data
 
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (CDC)