This guide will help you find resources for your nursing & allied health classes. The guide is divded into the following sections:
Articles
- Find articles in recommended scholarly journals, trade journals, and popular periodicals.
Books
- Find physical and electronic books.
- Find streaming video databases.
Streaming Video
- Find physical and electronic books.
- Find streaming video databases.
Cite Your Sources
- Find links to help you cite your sources.
Keith CichAlt Healthwatch (EBSCO) Includes full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
CINAHL Complete (EBSCO) This comprehensive nursing and allied health research database is a top resource for accessing full text articles and citations.. Additional materials include full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons and continuing education modules.
Consumer Health Complete (EBSCO) CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine.
Elsevier Clinical Key for Nursing Designed to help nurses clinically relevant answers through evidence-based content. Contains 500+ topic pages with concise overviews about disease conditions, 90+ nursing books, 60+ nursing journals, evidence-based nursing and drug monographs, multimedia, customizable patient education handouts, core measurements, labs, calculators and more.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO) Scholarly and professional publications across all medical disciplines including strong coverage of nursing and allied health.
Nursing & Allied Health Premium (ProQuest) This database offers a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews suited for students, instructors, researchers, and healthcare professionals.
Oxford Academic Endocrine Society Journals Four major peer-reviewed journals about endocrinology and metabolism. Some articles available in full-text.
PubMed Comprises more than 33 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Some full text available.
New York Times Website Full access to nytimes.com and the NYT mobile app for all current FDLTCC students, staff and faculty. Follow the library’s New York Times Student Guide to create your account.
Need a book not in the FDLTCC collection? place a resource sharing request
Advanced practice nursing roles : core concepts for professional development
Blair, Kathryn A., editor.
2019
Nursing theories and nursing practice
Smith, Marlaine C., author.; Gullett, Diane L., editor. 2020
Neeb's mental health nursing
Gorman, Linda M., author.; Anwar, Robynn F., author; Gorman, Linda M. 2019
Nursing Diagnosis Manual: Planning, Individualizing, and Documenting Client Care
Doenges, Marilynn E ; Moorhouse. 2022.
Overcoming Secondary Stress in Medical and Nursing Practice: A Guide to Professional Resilience and Personal Well-Being. Wicks, Robert J ; Donnelly, Gloria F 2021
Fast facts about LGBTQ+ care for nurses. Traister, Tyler, author.
2022
Dignity for deeply forgetful people : how caregivers can meet the challenges of Alzheimer's disease
Post, Stephen G. 2022
The language of kindness : a nurse's story
Watson, Christie author.
2018
Fast facts for the hospice nurse : a concise guide to end-of-life care
Wright, Patricia Moyle, author.
2021
Kanopy An on-demand streaming video service providing access to feature length films, documentaries and education videos across a wide range of subjects.
After finding an article, look for a "Cite" icon. Choose the whichever you are using (APA, MLA, etc.), then, copy and past the citation into your document. Always double check the format in case there are errors.
