Welcome to the Erickson Library's Dental Hygiene subject guide. You'll find tabs at the top that will lead you to additional information with print and online resources.
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
The Erickson Library is here to help you find credible and reliable information. Please feel free to call or email with any of your research questions!
Finding background information on your subject is helpful before you dive into subject specific databases. Credo Reference (link below) is a great place to start to gather ideas for keywords.
A few keywords to try: dentistry, dental hygienist, dental caries, dental implants, dental fillings, restorative dental materials, periodontitis, dental plaque, gingivitis.
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
A few keywords to try: dentistry, dental hygienist, dental caries, dental implants, dental fillings, restorative dental materials, periodontitis, dental plaque, gingivitis.
Visit the Articles tab to get more tips on using keywords in databases.
- Credo Reference
Search over 3 million full text entries in 1,200 electronic reference books! Watch How to Run a Basic Search on Credo.
Monday-Thursday: 8:00am-4:30pm
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Friday: 8:00am-4:00pm
Phone: (218) 733-5912
Email: lsclibrary@lsc.edu
Community Oral Health Practice for the Dental Hygienist (L224, RK52 .G48 2022)
Darby and Walsh Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice (L224, RK60.5 .B69 2020)
Dental Radiography: Principles and Techniques (L224, RK309 .H36 2022)
Infection Control and Management of Hazardous Materials for the Dental Team (L224, RK52 .M46 2023)
Medical Emergencies in the Dental Office (L224, RC86.8 .M34 2023)
Oral Pathology for the Dental Hygienist (L224, RK307 .I27 2023) 
Conservative Treatment of Pulp Tissue (2022)
Histology and Embryology for Dental Hygiene (2020)- Alt HealthWatch
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It has full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. - CINAHL Complete
CINAHL Complete is the world's most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for nearly 1,400 journals indexed in CINAHL. With full-text coverage dating back to 1937, it is the definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature. - Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. - Health Source - Consumer Edition
Popular and professionally written information for patients and consumers covering all health-related topics. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the AHFS Consumer Medication Information which includes drug information in lay language for consumers. - PubMed
PubMed is the National Library of Medicine's free search service which indexes over 5,000 medical, dental, nursing and allied health journals. - ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Premium
Proquest Nursing & Allied Health Premium is a user-friendly, multiformat database for nursing research, clinical skills development, and curriculum support. It delivers a diverse mix of scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources.
Access from off campus: Use your StarID and password or your library barcode and password.
- Angle Orthodontist
- BDJ Team
- British Dental Journal
- Canadian Journal of Dental Hygiene
- Clinical, Cosmetic and Investigational Dentistry
- Contemporary Clinical Dentistry
- Dental Assistant
- Dental Economics
- Dental Health
- Dentistry Journal
- eLaborate
- Dimensions of Dental Hygiene
- International Journal of Dental Hygiene (12 month delay)
- International Journal of Dentistry
- International Journal of Medical Dentistry
- International Journal of Orofacial Myology
- Journal of Conservative Dentistry
- Journal of Contemporary Dental Practice
- Journal of Dental Hygiene
- Journal of Dental Research
- Journal of International Society of Preventive & Community Dentistry
- RDH Magazine
- Special Care in Dentistry
Centre for Evidence Based Dentistry (CEBD)
DentistryIQ
dhnet: National Center for Dental Hygiene Research & Practice
DH: Links for Dental Hygiene Education
EthnoMed
Healthy People 2030: Oral Conditions
HIVdent
Merck Manual: Dental Disorders
National Association of Dental Plans
National Cancer Institute
DentistryIQ
dhnet: National Center for Dental Hygiene Research & Practice
DH: Links for Dental Hygiene Education
EthnoMed
Healthy People 2030: Oral Conditions
HIVdent
Merck Manual: Dental Disorders
National Association of Dental Plans
National Cancer Institute
American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD)
American Academy of Periodontology (AAP)
American Dental Education Association (ADEA)
American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA)
American Student Dental Association (ASDA)
Hispanic Dental Association (HDA)
Minnesota Dental Association (MDA)
Minnesota Dental Hygienists' Association (MnDHA)
Oral Cancer Foundation (OCF)
OSAP
American Academy of Periodontology (AAP)
American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA)
American Student Dental Association (ASDA)
Hispanic Dental Association (HDA)
Minnesota Dental Association (MDA)
Minnesota Dental Hygienists' Association (MnDHA)
Oral Cancer Foundation (OCF)
OSAP
Off campus? Access these videos using your StarID and password.
- C.A.T.C.H. onto Good Hygiene: Tooth Care Tips (segment 4)
- Children with Cleft Lip and Palate
- Dental Care for Kids
- Dental Health
- Dental Hygienist
- Dental Hygienist--Career Q&A: Professional Advice and Insight
- 5 Myths About Cavities
- Forensic Science: Dental Experts Identify Remains (segment 10)
- Functions of the Face
- Growing up Hispanic: Children in Crisis (segment 2, 5, 6, and 8)
- Gum Disease: Beyond Tooth Loss
- Health Care, Medicine, and Science: Health Industry Careers Dental Hygienist (segment 5)
- Health Technicians and Technologists: Dental Hygienist
- A Healthy You Video Clip Collection: Dental Health (segment 3)
- How to Make the Toothbrush
- The Human Body Video Clip Collection (segment 43)
- Hypnosurgery: Hypnosurgery for Dental Procedure (segment 3)
Off campus? Access these videos using your StarID and password.
- Improving your Rehabilitative Nursing Skills: Oral Hygiene and Communication (segment 3)
- Keeping Toddlers' Teeth Healthy
- Modern Marvels: Bathroom Tech
- Oral Assessment and Dental Diseases in the Elderly
- Secret Story of Stuff: Materials of the Modern Age: Dental Materials (segment 5)
- Stroke Patient: Oral Hygiene Care (segment 13)
- Teeth Whitening, Body Mass Index, Bee Stings, and More: Tonic (Series 1)
- Telltale Bodies: Forensic Odontology Dental Records (segment 9)
- This Treatment Could Make Your Next Trip to the Dentist More Bearable
- Toddler Oral Health
- Yummy in my Tummy: Baby's Dental Hygiene and Iron Deficiency (segment 13)